Sullivan County Democrat
Callicoon, New York
July 2, 2013 Issue
National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
Established 1891
news | sports | obituaries | archives | classifieds | subscribe | NEW! buy photos | links | contact | tv listings | lottery



Sullivan County Democrat

Promote Your Page Too

"Inside Out"
Jeanne Sager's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"Give Us Paws"
Ruth Huggler's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

John Conway's Look Back at the History of Sullivan County

Sullivan Renaissance

Sullivan County Chamber
Of Commerce & Industry

Sullivan County
Visitor's Association

Sullivan County
Government Center

Sullivan County
Partnership for
Economic Development

Please visit our
Community Links
section for other
Sullivan County


Eli Ruiz | Democrat

Rakkir Watson took home the MVP Award for the Comet’s basketball team on Monday. Watson was one of Section IX’s top scorers this season with a 23.3 point per game average. Pictured with Watson is 2013 Democrat Coach of the Year Pete Dworetsky.

A banner season for Fallsburg's Watson

Story by Eli Ruiz
SOUTH FALLSBURG — June 18, 2013 — Fallsburg High School gave its finest athletes their just-dues at the 2013 “Comet” Varsity Athletic Awards Banquet last Monday night.
Athletic director Tim Bult had a surprise up his sleeve after the dinner portion of the annual event; unveiling a special banner commemorating 2013 Democrat Player of the Year Rakkir Watson’s 1,000 point career at Fallsburg. Watson becomes the fifth player in the school’s history, and the first in 14-years, to reach the heady milestone.
Bult assumed MC duties, while assistant Superintendent of Schools Dr. Mathew Evans stood-in admirably for Superintendent Dr. Ivan Katz, delivering a moving and motivational welcome address to the dozens of proud parents, students and faculty that crowded the school auditorium for the awards ceremony portion of the event.
“Athletics contribute positively to our student’s lives,” offered Evans. “They provide our students with the opportunity to demonstrate their athletic abilities on the playing field. Athletes learn the importance of teamwork and the perseverance of playing through seasons.
“They also provide our school community with the opportunity to demonstrate its pride, but the impact of scholastic athletics is far deeper. Most importantly athletics teaches our students to keep trying even after they lose or face other setbacks.”
Before the main awards were given out, Fallsburg native and sports fan Jack Halchak was recognized as Fallsburg’s 2013 Fan of the Year.
The student-athlete awards came next with some of the more notable athletes recognized including 2013’s girls’ soccer Most Valuable Player, Brooke Rappaport. Kristen Jacobson garnered Most Improved Player accolades from coach Michael Geller. Football coach Adam Rodriguez handed out the prestigious “Roland Allen” Sportsmanship Award to Nolan Ackerley for his class and balanced demeanor during a tough football season for the Comets. Running Back Shakree Gibson accepted MVP honors from Rodriguez. Gibson provided one of the few bright spots for the Fallsburg football team this past season as the only Sullivan County rusher to pile up more than 1,000 yards for the year. Rodriguez’s Comets reached another big milestone, winning the program’s first-ever game against Livingston Manor late in the season.
Basketball coach, and Democrat Coach of the Year Pete Dworetsky handed out the basketball awards recognizing junior forward Jeremiah Fannings as his Most Improved Player. Nicholas Pinder, who averaged two steals and as many blocked shots per game, took home Best Defensive Player honors, with the “Roland Allen” Sportsmanship Award for basketball going to Jarrett Madison.
As if Watson’s addition to the list of four other Fallsburg legends on the new banner of 1,000 point career scorers wasn’t enough, the senior point guard also took MVP honors for his outstanding season, leadership skills and contributions to a successful 13-7 Comet campaign. A four-year starter for Dworetsky, Watson was among Section IX’s top scorers all season long and finished with a 23.3 point per game average. Perhaps the highlight of the season came in a ridiculous 45-point outburst in the Comet’s against Millbrook, helping propel Fallsburg into sectional play for the first time in Dworetsky’s five year tenure.
“I think this season was a lot different from the past couple of years where it was pretty clear this season who out most valuable player was,” said Dworetsky. “He [Watson] really stepped up and matured tremendously and he really bought into what we were saying all year – that the entire team is going to look at you no matter what decision you make. Kids that are new [to the basketball program] are going to look at you for what is acceptable and Rakkir really proved himself this season.”
The evening’s final accolades were the Senior Trophy Awards: The “Student Government Association Awards” for perseverance went to Elizabeth Loarca and Ryan McKeon. The “Fallsburg Comet Booster Club” Awards for sportsmanship went to Christina Alonzo and Jarrett Madison and the two “Outstanding Senior Athletes for 2013 were Kelsey Moody and Austin Halchak.

2013 Fallsburg Comet Varsity Athletic Awards
MVP - Brooke Rappaport
MIP - Kirsten Jacobsen
“Roland Allen” Sportsmanship - Samantha Wiles

MVP - Amado Gallo
MIP - Felix Martinez Escalante
Sportsmanship - Austin Halchak

MVP - Shakree Gibson
MIP - Matthew Strauss
Sportsmanship – Nolan Akerley

MVP - Samantha Ocasio
MIP - Mekayla Perneszi
Sportsmanship – Lamaria Edwards

MVP - Christine Christopher
MIP - Alexis Shea
Sportsmanship – Marisa Justiniano

MIP - Mandtasia Boswell Fields
Sportsmanship - Kirsten Jacobsen

MVP - Dakota Raponi
MIP - Jordan Laguio
Sportsmanship - Abram Bryan

MVP - Christina Alonso
MIP - Tottiona Waitley
Sportsmanship - Samantha Ocasio

MVP - Rakkir Watson
MIP - Jeremiah Fannings
Sportsmanship - Jarrett Madison
Best Defensive Player -
Nicholas Pinder

Best Offensive Player - Nyasia Blakney
Best Defensive Player - Kelsey Moody
Sportsmanship - Brittany Spinelli

MVP - Zakary Steingart
MIP - Brendon Sapolsky
Sportsmanship - Cody Vegliante

Sportsmanship - Elizabeth Loarca

MVP - Edon Lulanaj
MIP - Tadeusz Loarca
Sportsmanship - Adam Hurwitz

MVP - Austin Halchak
MIP - Cody Vegliante
Sportsmanship - Ryan Mckeon

MVP - Abram Bryan
MIP - Adam Hurwitz
Sportsmanship - Rory Meyer

MVP - Candhace Forrest
MIP - Maegan Hurwitz
Sportsmanship - Elizabeth Loarca

Co-MVP - Christine Christopher
Co-MVP - Kirsten Jacobsen
MIP - Sarah Hallenbeck
Sportsmanship - Cristal Cannon

Co-MIP - Adam Justiniano
Co-MIP - Matthew Jonas
Sportsmanship - Thomas Pignataro
MVP - Madison Levine
Sportsmanship - Melissa Melko


2013 “FAN OF THE YEAR - Jack Halchak

2013 ATHLETIC APPRECIATION - Winnie Foertsch

(voted By all varsity coaches)
Student Government
Association For Perseverance
(Girl) - Elizabeth Loarca
(Boy) - Ryan Mckeon
Fallsburg Comet Booster Club Award
For Sportsmanship
(Girl) - Christina Alonso
(Boy) - Jarrett Madison

Outstanding Senior Athlete
(Girl) - Kelsey Moody
(Boy) - Austin Halchak

Copyright © 1999-2013 Catskill-Delaware Publications.
The information you receive online from the Sullivan County Democrat Online Edition is protected by the copyright laws of the United States. Content contained within this website is for the sole and exclusive use of Catskill-Delaware Publications. Please read our user agreement and our use information
privacy statement.
Internet Services provided by Time Warner, Site Design by Green Enterprises

top of page       top of page