Sullivan County Democrat
Callicoon, New York
August 16, 2013 Issue
National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
Established 1891
news | sports | obituaries | archives | classifieds | subscribe | NEW! buy photos | links | contact | tv listings | lottery



Sullivan County Democrat

Promote Your Page Too

"Inside Out"
Jeanne Sager's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"Give Us Paws"
Ruth Huggler's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

John Conway's Look Back at the History of Sullivan County

Sullivan Renaissance

Sullivan County Chamber
Of Commerce & Industry

Sullivan County
Visitor's Association

Sullivan County
Government Center

Sullivan County
Partnership for
Economic Development

Please visit our
Community Links
section for other
Sullivan County


Democrat File Photo

Former champion Kort Wheeler returns to the Democrat this year. Wheeler won in 1993 with Robert Friedman and also made it to the finals in 1994 and 2009.

Past champions returning to Democrat

Staff Report
CALLICOON — July 19, 2013 — Ken Cohen and Drew Billard beware, the field is full of past champions.
The 2012 Sullivan County Democrat Golf champs better bring their “A” games next month when the 32nd Annual Democrat Golf Tourney tees it up at the Villa Roma in Callicoon on August 9, 10 and 11.
“A host of past champions, and really good teams have already signed up,” tourney sponsor Fred Stabbert III said. “If you want to get in, you better hurry, there are only 14 spots left.”
In addition to defending champs Cohen and Billard, 1993 champion Kort Wheeler and partner Rich Schmidt are back in. This combo came in second in 2009.
“Both of these players are playing scratch golf,” Stabbert said. “Schmidt is coming off an under-par round at Swan Lake on Wednesday and has been playing pretty well all season. He said his partner is also driving the ball out of sight.”
Also making a return to The Democrat after a long hiatus is 1996 champion Peter Rymer, who will be playing with son Andrew. The elder Rymer had a great run in the Westchester Senior Amateur this year, losing in the finals.
Two-time champs Gregg Semenetz and Billy Phillips are entered and are always a dangerous combo on the Villa Roma course. These two like to go out in the early shotgun on Friday and put up a low round for everyone to beat.
All indications are four-time champions Sean Sem-enetz and Joe Winski will be competing, though an official entry has not been filed yet.
The Kleiner cousins, Maxx and Ben, who made it to the finals three consecutive years from 2005-2007, are coming back, and if they can get in enough practice rounds should be a factor.
Another team to watch will be the father-son squad of Justin and Randy Armstrong. This team has been in the championship flight before and could go a long way this year if they get a favorable draw.
Fallsburg’s Nathan Steingart and Mike Kaufman could also make some noise, especially if they can get a few wins under their belt in the championship flight.
For the 32nd straight year Chris DuBois will be in the field. A winner in 2000, DuBois will be playing with Jay Shapiro.
Craig Gordon, who finished second in 1997 and 2000, is also back in the field with a new partner, Andrew Etter.
And two-time winner Josh Goldstein (2008 and 2009) will be teeing up with partner Art Goldstein.
“It is going to be a great tournament and I hope everyone who wants to get in signs up now,” Stabbert said. “I’m sure the Democrat will be filled by the end of the month.”

Sullivan County Democrat History
Champions and Runner-up
1982 Mark Etess / Mitchell Etess Bob Simons / Doc Mullins
1983 Mark Etess / Mitchell Etess Tom Drobysh / Glenn Sonnenschein
1984 Ken Cohen / Jimmy Grossinger Jack Jordan / Rich Farquhar
1985 Walt Markowski / Ed Markowski Mitchell Etess / Jerry McDonald
1986 Tom Drobysh / Don Winters Robert Friedman / Charlie Levine
1987 Ken Cohen / Jack Jordan Walt Markowski / Tom Howe
1988 David Solomon / Jack Jordan Tony Arielly / Ricky Morgan
1989 Terry Wolcott / Charles Johnston David Solomon / Jack Jordan
1990 Rad Yaun / Michael Schmidt Ken Cohen / Charlie Levine
1991 Walt Markowski / Tom Howe Charlie Levine / George Rodriguez
1992 Ken Cohen / Barry Winter Eric Williams / Bill Phillips
1993 Kort Wheeler / Robert Friedman David Solomon / Jack Jordan
1994 Ken Cohen / Mitchell Etess Kort Wheeler / Robert Freidman
1995 Walter Herzog / Gerry Garber Ken Cohen / Barry Winter
1996 Dave Philossoph / Peter Rymer David Solomon / Jack Jordan
1997 Ken Cohen / Barry Winter Craig Gordon / Paul Davis
1998 Paul Stock Jr. / Pat Murtagh Chris DuBois / Bill Elliott
1999 Ken Cohen / Barry Winter Gregg Semenetz Sr./Gregg Semenetz Jr.
2000 Chris DuBois / Bill Elliott Craig Gordon / Jeff Gordon
2001 Gregg Semenetz Sr. / Bill Phillips David Solomon / Jack Jordan
2002 Gregg Semenetz Sr. / Bill Phillips David Solomon / Jack Jordan
2003 Sean Semenetz / Nick Yaun Michael Goldstein / Pete Gelman
2004 Ken Cohen / Charles Johnston Gregg Semenetz Sr. / Bill Phillips
2005 Ken Cohen / Barry Winter Ben Kleiner / Maxx Kleiner
2006 Sean Semenetz / Joe Winski Ben Kleiner / Maxx Kleiner
2007 Sean Semenetz / Joe Winski Ben Kleiner / Maxx Kleiner
2008 Josh Goldstein / Mike Culclasure Alex Etter / A.J. Lee
2009 Josh Goldstein / Mike Culclasure Rich Schmidt / Kort Wheeler
2010 Sean Semenetz / Joe Winski Ken Cohen / Barry Winter
2011 Sean Semenetz / Joe Winski Gregg Semenetz Sr. / Bill Phillips
2012 Ken Cohen / Drew Billard Gregg Semenetz Sr. / Bill Phillips

Copyright © 1999-2013 Catskill-Delaware Publications.
The information you receive online from the Sullivan County Democrat Online Edition is protected by the copyright laws of the United States. Content contained within this website is for the sole and exclusive use of Catskill-Delaware Publications. Please read our user agreement and our use information
privacy statement.
Internet Services provided by Time Warner, Site Design by Green Enterprises

top of page       top of page