Sullivan County Democrat
Callicoon, New York
August 16, 2013 Issue
National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
Established 1891
news | sports | obituaries | archives | classifieds | subscribe | NEW! buy photos | links | contact | tv listings | lottery



Sullivan County Democrat

Promote Your Page Too

"Inside Out"
Jeanne Sager's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"Give Us Paws"
Ruth Huggler's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

John Conway's Look Back at the History of Sullivan County

Sullivan Renaissance

Sullivan County Chamber
Of Commerce & Industry

Sullivan County
Visitor's Association

Sullivan County
Government Center

Sullivan County
Partnership for
Economic Development

Please visit our
Community Links
section for other
Sullivan County


Democrat File Photo

Two-time champion Josh Goldstein returns to the 2013 Democrat with a new partner.

Democrat Golf Tourney filling up fast

Staff Report
CALLICOON — July 5, 2013 — With exactly five weeks left until the start of the 32nd Annual Sullivan County Democrat Golf Tourney, the field is half full.
“The response has been tremendous and we have 28 of our 56-team field already signed up,” tourney sponsor Fred Stabbert III said. “It looks like it will be another terrific line-up of teams, including some past champions.”
Although some of the teams “are laying in the weeds,” Liberty’s Josh Goldstein, a winner in 2008 and 2009 with Mike Culclasure, is already on the entry list.
“Josh has found a new partner, but I’m sure he will be up to the test of competing for the championship,” Stabbert said.
‘The Democrat’ will be held on August 9, 10, 11 at the Villa Roma Country Club in Callicoon, which has been in terrific shape despite the recent heavy rainfall.
Ken Cohen of Jeffersonville, who last year teamed up with Narrowsburg sensation Drew Billard to win his ninth Democrat, is expected to try the same combination this year.
“Ken just loves the tournament and is a great competitor,” Stabbert said. “He has been a champion since the early 1980s and has won the tournament in four separate decades.”
Also expected back is five-time winner Sean Semenetz, along with his partner Joe Winski Jr.
Semenetz has been known to go on some amazing hot streaks and if he gets hot during the Democrat, he could add his sixth title.
“There is a lot of great talent out there and some very talented young golfers as well,” Stabbert said.
Middletown’s Mark Thatcher and Sean McDonald are also back after a two-year absence and should make a run for the championship.
Kort Wheeler, a 1993 winner, is back again with Rich Schmidt, who has been playing steady golf all season.
“This is another team who has been close before and maybe this could be their year,” Stabbert said.
Another perennial powerhouse, Kleiner and Kleiner, are also getting ready to compete.
Cousins Maxx and Ben Kleiner made the finals three years in a row but just couldn’t win the match.
Will 2013 be there lucky year?
Stay tuned to find out. If you’re interested in participating, call 887-5200 or refer to the entry on page 8B. Remember, the tournament is flighted after Friday’s qualifying round, so the competition is open to all levels of play.

Sullivan County Democrat History
Champions & Runner-up

1982 Mark Etess / Mitchell Etess Bob Simons / Doc Mullins
1983 Mark Etess / Mitchell Etess Tom Drobysh / Glenn Sonnenschein
1984 Ken Cohen / Jimmy Grossinger Jack Jordan / Rich Farquhar
1985 Walt Markowski / Ed Markowski Mitchell Etess / Jerry McDonald
1986 Tom Drobysh / Don Winters Robert Friedman / Charlie Levine
1987 Ken Cohen / Jack Jordan Walt Markowski / Tom Howe
1988 David Solomon / Jack Jordan Tony Arielly / Ricky Morgan
1989 Terry Wolcott / Charles Johnston David Solomon / Jack Jordan
1990 Rad Yaun / Michael Schmidt Ken Cohen / Charlie Levine
1991 Walt Markowski / Tom Howe Charlie Levine / George Rodriguez
1992 Ken Cohen / Barry Winter Eric Williams / Bill Phillips
1993 Kort Wheeler / Robert Friedman David Solomon / Jack Jordan
1994 Ken Cohen / Mitchell Etess Kort Wheeler / Robert Freidman
1995 Walter Herzog / Gerry Garber Ken Cohen / Barry Winter
1996 Dave Philossoph / Peter Rymer David Solomon / Jack Jordan
1997 Ken Cohen / Barry Winter Craig Gordon / Paul Davis
1998 Paul Stock Jr. / Pat Murtagh Chris DuBois / Bill Elliott
1999 Ken Cohen / Barry Winter Gregg Semenetz Sr./Gregg Semenetz Jr.
2000 Chris DuBois / Bill Elliott Craig Gordon / Jeff Gordon
2001 Gregg Semenetz Sr. / Bill Phillips David Solomon / Jack Jordan
2002 Gregg Semenetz Sr. / Bill Phillips David Solomon / Jack Jordan
2003 Sean Semenetz / Nick Yaun Michael Goldstein / Pete Gelman
2004 Ken Cohen / Charles Johnston Gregg Semenetz Sr. / Bill Phillips
2005 Ken Cohen / Barry Winter Ben Kleiner / Maxx Kleiner
2006 Sean Semenetz / Joe Winski Ben Kleiner / Maxx Kleiner
2007 Sean Semenetz / Joe Winski Ben Kleiner / Maxx Kleiner
2008 Josh Goldstein / Mike Culclasure Alex Etter / A.J. Lee
2009 Josh Goldstein / Mike Culclasure Rich Schmidt / Kort Wheeler
2010 Sean Semenetz / Joe Winski Ken Cohen / Barry Winter
2011 Sean Semenetz / Joe Winski Gregg Semenetz Sr. / Bill Phillips
2012 Ken Cohen / Drew Billard Gregg Semenetz Sr. / Bill Phillips

Copyright © 1999-2013 Catskill-Delaware Publications.
The information you receive online from the Sullivan County Democrat Online Edition is protected by the copyright laws of the United States. Content contained within this website is for the sole and exclusive use of Catskill-Delaware Publications. Please read our user agreement and our use information
privacy statement.
Internet Services provided by Time Warner, Site Design by Green Enterprises

top of page       top of page