Sullivan County Democrat
Callicoon, New York
March 1, 2013 Issue
National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
Established 1891
news | sports | obituaries | archives | classifieds | subscribe | NEW! buy photos | links | contact | tv listings | lottery



Sullivan County Democrat

Promote Your Page Too

"The Wild Gardener"
Peter Loewer's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"The Mouth That Roars"
Bill Liblick's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"Inside Out"
Jeanne Sager's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"Give Us Paws"
Ruth Huggler's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

John Conway's Look Back at the History of Sullivan County

Sullivan Renaissance

Sullivan County Chamber
Of Commerce & Industry

Sullivan County
Visitor's Association

Sullivan County
Government Center

Sullivan County
Partnership for
Economic Development

Please visit our
Community Links
section for other
Sullivan County


Contributed Photo

Monticello Mayor Gordon Jenkins presents Sean Reuss with the coveted Mayor’s Trophy, awarded to one senior for outstanding athletic achievement.

Monticello Honors Senior Athletes

By Jon Dinan
MONTICELLO — Monticello High School honored it’s best and brightest athletes Friday evening at the annual Senior Athletic Sports Night in the high school auditorium and gymnasium.
Doug Murphy, who is completing his fifth year as Athletic Director at Monticello, commended and congratulated MHS student athletes and coaches for their achievements both athletically and scholastically.
Following an address by Superintendent, Daniel A. Teplesky, a sports highlight slideshow was presented.
The ceremony then moved to the gymnasium where food and drinks were served and the bulk of the awards were distributed.
The Mayor’s Trophy, an award offered to one outstanding senior athlete will go to Sean Reuss, a two-sport standout in football, basketball and headed to the University of Maine on a football scholarship.
He was not there to receive the award however, because he was playing in the Upstate/Downstate All-Star Game at the Syracuse Carrier Dome. Reuss claimed his award several days later from Monticello Mayor Gordon Jenkins.
Scholar-Athlete Awards were presented by Teplesky and Mrs. Orestano-James to students who have maintained an academic G.P.A. of 85, and 90 or better.
The Coach’s Award is given to one member from each varsity team who “exemplifies and upholds the highest standards of school service, athletic performance, integrity, and sportsmanship.”
Senior plaques were given out by Ms. Virgina Morse and Mr. Mark Sutherland to senior athletes who have at least three varsity letters.
The senior plaques are separated into three groups: the Bachelor, Master, and Doctor of Sport. Each represents a different level of athletic prestige.
Bachelor of Sport is a reward for students who have earned three or more varsity letters. Master is for six or more, and Doctor is reserved for those with nine or more varsity letters.

Coaches Award
Baseball: Shane Jackson
Softball: Samantha Cohn
Cheerleading (Winter): Angelica Diaz
Cheerleading (Fall): Meghan Jefferson
Basketball: Ros Djonbalaj
Boy’s Indoor Track: Terry Duncan
Girl’s Indoor Track: Tania Walker
Wrestling: Luke Evans
Tennis: Jennifer Giza
Boy’s Golf: Ryan Heins
Girl’s Golf: Haley Heins
Boy’s Alpine Skiing: Ryan Heins
Girl’s Alpine Skiing: Paulina Pavese
Nordic Skiing: Bryana Sewell
Nordic Skiing: Ian Kolaitis
Tennis: Lukas Lindwasser
Boy’s X-Country: Chris Maroldi
Girl’s X-Country: Ashley McEneaney
Boy’s Track/Field: Onique Taylor
Girl’s Track/Field: Kristen McEneaney
Football: Sean Reuss
Volleyball: Cassi Smithem
Soccer: Onique Taylor

Doctor of Sport
Erica Connors, Kaitlyn Fisher, Ryan Heins, Rachel Klein, Ian Kolaitis, Bryana Sewell, Rebecca Wood

Master of Sport
Earl Allen, Connor Briggs, Anthony Gray, Justin Mapes, Paulina Pavese, Tania Walker, Alexis Watkins

Bachelor of Sport
Connor Alvarez, Kerissa Bennett, Samantha Cohn, Jose Cruz, Steven Demestrio, Luke Evans, Jennifer Giza, Paul Gomez, Meghan Kocijanski, Noel Komatz, Garret Lapolt, Melody Mangual-Rodriguez, Kayla Martin, Nolan Mitchell, Emily Morey, Sean Reuss, Laurie Schoonmaker,Cassel Smithem, Sajeth Soundarajan, Onique Taylor, Brendan Thomas, Dayanara Torres, Victor Vargas, Stefanny Vieira, Talon Watson

Copyright © 1999-2013 Catskill-Delaware Publications.
The information you receive online from the Sullivan County Democrat Online Edition is protected by the copyright laws of the United States. Content contained within this website is for the sole and exclusive use of Catskill-Delaware Publications. Please read our user agreement and our use information
privacy statement.
Internet Services provided by Time Warner, Site Design by Green Enterprises

top of page       top of page