Sullivan County Democrat
Callicoon, New York
April 10, 2012 Issue
National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
Established 1891
news | sports | obituaries | archives | classifieds | subscribe | links | contact | tv listings | lottery



"The Wild Gardener"
Peter Loewer's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"The Mouth That Roars"
Bill Liblick's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"Inside Out"
Jeanne Sager's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"Give Us Paws"
Ruth Huggler's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

John Conway's Look Back at the History of Sullivan County

Sullivan Renaissance

Sullivan County Chamber
Of Commerce & Industry

Sullivan County
Visitor's Association

Sullivan County
Government Center

Sullivan County
Partnership for
Economic Development

Please visit our
Community Links
section for other
Sullivan County

PLEASE NOTE: If you bookmark a particular link from the current news, sports or obituaries offered on our Website, be aware that the URL address will change once it is archived. Bookmarking an archived link is therefore the surest way to retain access to a particular article.


Rob Potter | Democrat

The members of the SCCC women’s outdoor track and field team were presented awards by Coach Bob Harris, right, at last Tuesday night’s banquet. The team members are, from the left, Nyoki Tate, Danielle Darby, Alyssa Corbett, Tehnyat Khan and Erin Lane. Missing from photo is team member Marisela Acevedo.

SCCC honors its student-athletes at annual banquet

By Rob Potter
LOCH SHELDRAKE — Dozens of student-athletes were honored last Tuesday evening when Sullivan County Community College held its annual Athletic Banquet in the Paul Grossinger Dining Room.
“Once again, this has been a great year for Sullivan athletics,” said SCCC Athletic Director Chris DePew as he welcomed everyone to the event.
DePew noted the accomplishments of all of the school’s sports teams: Men’s Cross Country, Women’s Cross Country, Men’s Golf, Men’s Basketball, Women’s Basketball, Men’s Outdoor Track and Field, Women’s Outdoor Track and Field and Baseball.
“I’m very proud to lead this department,” said DePew, who added that he is completing his 10th year as the Director of Athletics at SCCC.
DePew thanked the SCCC Administration, all of the coaches and assistant coaches for the teams, Rob Barrese, who is the SCCC Strength and Conditioning Coach, Athletic Department Secretary Georgia Lyons, Rhea DeMaria, Jennifer Bonelli and the SCCC Buildings and Grounds Department.
SCCC President Dr. Mamie Howard Golladay, Vice President of Academic Affairs Dr. Robert Schultz and SCCC Board Chair Phyllis Coombe all offered their congratulations to the Generals and Lady Generals.
“Your coaches and athletic director have been very good role models for you,” Golladay said.
“I extend congratulations to all of you for your accomplishments on the playing fields, courts and in the classroom,” Coombe said.
“I hope to read in the near future about all of you,” Schultz said. “Nurture the friendships you have made here. Congratulations to all of you.”
Each of the coaches then thanked the members of their respective teams and recognized three team members with special awards.
Those awards were as follows:
Men’s Basketball (Coach Kevin DeVantier, Assistant Coach Gregg Semenetz Jr., Assistant Coach Dan DeVantier): Coaches Award: Dustin VanLieu, Most Improved: Frankie Drayton, MVP: Jordan Thorpe
Women’s Basketball (Coach Sara Thompson Tweedy, Assistant Coach Diana Traugot, Assistant Coach Carl Graham): Leadership Award: Nyoki Tate, Very Important Player (VIP): Luna Jefferson, MVP: Taisha Sherman
Men’s Cross Country (Coach Bob Harris): Coaches Award: Siwon Coleman, Most Improved: Matthew Fortin, MVP: Matthew Gill
Men’s Track and Field (Coach Bob Harris): Coaches Award: Matthew Gill, Most Improved: Terelle Vaughn, MVP: Matthew Fortin
Women’s Track and Field (Coach Bob Harris): Coaches Award: Erin Lane, Most Improved: Danielle Darby, MVP: Tehnyat Khan
Cheerleading (Coach Janna Comando): Coaches Award: Crystal Salgado, Most Improved: Reason Bennett, MVP: Christopher Torres
Men’s Golf (Coach Gregg Semenetz Jr.): Coaches Award: Eric Brown
Baseball (Coach Ryan Snair, Assistant Coach Jared Carrier, Assistant Coach Tom Mattice, Assistant Coach Everett Saul): Coaches Award: Jose Castellanos, Most Improved: Efrain Bautista, MVP: Jossue Delgado
Athletes who received awards from the Mid-Hudson Conference and/or National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Region XV were as follows:
Mid-Hudson Conference All-Academic Team: Jose Castellanos, Eugenio Mesa, Idaury Peralta, Siwon Coleman, Alyssa Corbett, Constance Fripp, Ashara Morris, Tehnyat Khan, Erin Lane, Terrelle Vaughn, Frankie Drayton, Stephen Sunday, Danielle Darby
Mid-Hudson Conference Team: Taisha Sherman, Nyoki Tate, Frankie Drayton, Marvin Jean, Luna Jefferson
Mid-Hudson Conference MVP: Cleanthony Early
Mid-Hudson Conference Player of the Week: Luna Jefferson (week ending Dec. 7, 2010), Cleanthony Early (week ending Dec. 21, 2010 and Feb. 1, 2011)
All Region XV Academic Team: Ramon Antonio, Jose Castellanos, Eugenio Mesa, Idaury Peralta, Constance Fripp, Ashara Morris, Tehnyat Khan, Terrelle Vaughn, Frankie Drayton, Stephen Sunday
2010-2011 Region XV Scholar Athlete of the Year: Tehnyat Khan
Cheerleading team members with a 3.0 or better GPA: Jazzmine Wierzbicki-McMickle, Olivia Robinson, Crystal Salgado, Leeann Mitchell
Region XV Team Awards: Jordan Thorpe, Frankie Drayton, Marvin Jean, Luna Jefferson, Cleanthony Early
Basketball Coaches Association of New York (BCANY): Marvin Jean (Honorable Mention), Cleanthony Early (First Team, Player of the Year)
NJCAA Awards for placing at NJCAA Division III Track and Field championships: Erin Lane, Tehnyat Khan
SUNY Chancellor Scholar Athlete Award: Frankie Drayton, Marisela Acevedo
NJCAA First Team All-American: Cleanthony Early
NJCAA Division III Basketball Player of the Year: Cleanthony Early
The final award presented was the 2010-2011 SCCC Athlete of the Year. The three finalists were: Tehnyat Khan, nominated by Women’s Track and Field Coach Bob Harris, Crystal Salgado, nominated by Cheerleading Coach Janna Comando, and Cleanthony Early, nominated by Men’s Basketball Coach Kevin DeVantier.
Early was chosen as the SCCC Athlete of the Year.

Copyright © 1999-2012 Catskill-Delaware Publications.
The information you receive online from the Sullivan County Democrat Online Edition is protected by the copyright laws
of the United States. Please read our user agreement and our use information
privacy statement.
Internet Services provided by Time Warner, Site Design by Green Enterprises

Please be aware that once a new issue is posted on this site, the immediate previous issue's links change. Check our Archives section to obtain the new links for old issues.
top of page       top of page