Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Rob Potter | Democrat

THE SULLIVAN COUNTY Women's Softball League (SCWSL) officers are, from left to right, 2007-2008 President Theresa Nietzel, 2007-2008 Vice President Christina Basna, 2006-2007 Vice President Robyn Gannon and 2007-2008 Treasurer Kathy Jo Hoyt. Missing from photo is 2007-2008 Secretary Lori Kimmes.

Women's Softball League Celebrates 2007 Season With Awards Picnic

By Rob Potter
WHITE SULPHUR SPRINGS — August 28, 2007 — The Sullivan County Women’s Softball League (SCWSL) celebrated its 2007 season with an awards picnic on Saturday afternoon at the White Sulphur Springs Firemen’s Park.
The top teams and players were recognized for their accomplishments during the recently completed season.
The “A” Division teams that were honored included Cooper Paints, Charlie’s Angels and Klein & Sons Logging, Inc. Cooper Paints earned the regular season and playoff first place trophies. Charlie’s Angles received the regular season second place trophy. Klein & Sons Logging received the regular season and playoff third place trophies.
The “B” Division teams that were honored were Center For Discovery Diamonds, Mr. Willy’s and Sonny’s Service Center. Center For Discovery Diamonds earned the regular season and playoff first place trophies, Mr. Willy’s received the regular season and playoff second place trophies and Sonny’s Service Center received the regular season third place trophy.
Just after the regular season ended, the members of each team nominated their teammates for special individual awards, such as Most Improved Player (MIP) or Most Valuable Player (MVP).
Before she helped SCWSL President Theresa Nietzel hand out the team trophies and special individual awards, Vice President Robyn Gannon praised her fellow players.
“I thank you all for a great season,” Gannon said. “You all had a good time this year, I’m sure.”
Those individual award winners were as follows:
“A” Division:
Charlie’s Angels: Good to Go! Award – Deb Ackerley; Newest Infielder Award – Jessica Bradley
Cooper Paints: Co-MVP Offense – Amanda Cox; Co-MVP Offense – Ally McCarthy; MVP Defense – Erin Shuart
Dutch’s/T&C Tanning: MIP– Courtney Price; MVP – Kathy Jo Hoyt
Klein & Sons Logging: MIP – Cheryl Sheerer; MVP – Michelle Ross
L&B Tack: MIP – Lizzy Giumarra; MVP – Barb Merton
New Hope: MIP Offense – Tammy Sondermeyer; MIP Defense – Jessica Miller
The Nugget: MIP – Karen Perrello; MVP – Kendra Harris
“B” Division:
Animal Hospital of Sullivan County: MIP – Jennifer Eisenbach; MVP – Robin Chanov
Center For Discovery Diamonds: MIP – Maria Ramos; MVP – Angela Bakos
International Contractor’s Corporation (ICC): MIP – Maria Hyde; MVP – Lynda Bracken
Lindsey’s Cuisine: MIP – Michelle Logothety, MVP – Melonie Cruz
Mr. Willy’s: MIP – Jamie Clifford; MVP – Katrina Meyer
Sonny’s Service Center: Co-MIP – Jeanne Melchick; Co-MIP – Cathy Roser; MVP – Janet Colangelo.
Following the awards ceremony, all of the players at the picnic voted on the SCWSL officers for 2007-2008.
Nietzel was re-elected President, while Kathy Jo Hoyt and Lori Kimmes were re-elected to the positions of Treasurer and Secretary, respectively.
Christina Basna was elected the Vice President for 2007-2008.
This will be Nietzel’s third consecutive term as the SCWSL President.
She noted that during the 14 seasons she has played in the league, the league has expanded from six teams to 14.
“We had a good season, everybody had fun,” Nietzel said of the SCWSL’s 2007 campaign. “All of these ladies live to play ball.”

top of page  |  home  |  archives