Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Andy Simek | Democrat

VILLAGE OF MONTICELLO Mayor Jim Barnicle, standing at far right in second row, and Village Trustees, standing from left to right in the back row, Scott Schoonmaker, Gordon Jenkins, Victor Marinello Jr. and Brian Vandermark honored the Monticello Little League Minor Division All-Star New York District 19 “D” Bracket championship team at Monday night’s village board meeting. Standing in the middle row, from left to right, are Monticello Little League President Olga Wagner, Coach John Drapkin, Coach Phil Etkin and Coach Ted LaRuffa. Standing in the front row holding the certificates they received from the village board members and their championship banner are David Watkins, Matthew Etkin, Jack Drapkin, Tyler Foxwell, Ocean Heintz, Joseph Klein, Mike LaRuffa, Dante Smalls and Joey Torres. Missing from photo are team members Colin Rosenblum and Michael Sedlack.

Little League Honored For Outstanding Season

By Andy Simek
MONTICELLO — August 24, 2007 — The 2007 Monticello Little League Minor All-Star Team was honored at Monday night’s Village of Monticello board meeting.
Mayor Jim Barnicle and Trustees Gordon Jenkins, Victor Marinello Jr., Scott Schoonmaker and Brian Vandermark congratulated the team members – boys ages 9 and 10 who play in the Monticello Little League’s Minor Division.
This is the third consecutive year that the Monticello Little League Minor All-Star Team has won the New York District 19 D-Bracket.
Back in early July, the Monticello team defeated two Orange County Squads to win the D-Bracket title. Monticello topped Maybrook, 10-6, and Florida, 17-6, on its way to the crown.
In the next round of competition, Monticello played two B-Bracket teams. On July 14, Minisink, which won the B Bracket title, defeated Monticello, 11-4. On July 16, Monticello saw its season end with a 5-1 loss to Port Jervis.
Returning All Stars from Monticello’s 2006 D Bracket Championship Team included: Jack Drapkin, Matthew Etkin, Tyler Foxwell, Colin Rosenblum and David Watkins.
New additions to the 2007 team included Ocean Heintz, Joseph Klein, Michael LaRuffa, Michael Sedlack, Dante Smalls and Joey Torres.
The Monticello Coaches were Jonathan Drapkin, Phil Etkin and Ted LaRuffa.
“This is a very special team we have,” Coach Drapkin said. “It’s quite the feat to take the championship three years running. We should all be very proud of these kids and I hope the community can come and embrace the little league now.”
“The kids did the work out on the field, but I want to thank the parents, too, for their commitment,” Coach Etkin said. “We wouldn’t have come this far if it wasn’t for them.”

top of page  |  home  |  archives