Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Rob Potter | Democrat

THE CAMPERS WHO received special trophy awards at last week’s Sullivan Generals Boys’ Summer Basketball Camp are pictured above. Standing in the front row, from left to right, are Zayne Watson, Brett Fiske, Jarrett Madison, Earl Schoonmaker and Jiron Kevii. Standing in the back row, from left to right, are Talon Watson, Rakkir Watson, Marcus Daniels-Penn and Tré Branch.

Youngsters Learn While Having Fun at SCCC Hoops Camp

By Rob Potter
LOCH SHELDRAKE — August 3, 2007 — A total of 27 boys from around Sullivan County spent several hours each day from Monday, July 23 through Friday, July 27 improving their hoops skills and having fun at the annual Sullivan Generals Boys’ Summer Basketball Camp.
Guided by Camp Director Chris DePew and Assistant Coaches Lakarri Byrd, Paul Clune, Kevin Mutz and Corey Ramos, the boys participated in dribbling, passing and shooting drills. The campers also competed in games, from 1-on-1 games to 4-on-4 games to 3-point shooting contests to free throw shooting contests
On Friday afternoon, parents, siblings and other family members attended the camp’s awards ceremony on the lawn in front of the fieldhouse.
“We had a great week of camp,” DePew said as the awards ceremony began.
DePew, who is the SCCC Director of Athletics, thanked all of the boys for participating in the camp. He also thanked the boys’ parents and family members for transporting the campers to SCCC each day, his fellow camp instructors and SCCC Athletic Department Secretary Georgia Lyons for all of her assistance in helping the camp run so well.
The players were divided into three age groups – 7 to 9, 10 to 12 and 13-and-over. But for many of the games and skills competitions, some of the age 10 to 12 campers were moved up to the 13 and over age group so that there could be a younger group and an older group with approximately the same number of kids in each group.
The winners of the special contests were as follows:
Knockout Champion: James Bertholf
Around the World Champion: Shane Luczyski (younger age group); Talon Watson (older age group)
All-Week Free Throw Shooting Champion: Marcus Daniels-Penn
H-O-R-S-E Champion: Shane Luczyski (younger age group); Patrick Ramos (older age group)
Dribble Obstacle Course Champion: Kenneth Presti (younger age group); Braiden DeGraw (older age group)
1-on-1 Champions: Jiron Kevii (younger age group); Marcus Daniels-Penn (older age group)
2-on-2 Champions: Jiron Kevii, Shane Black (younger age group); Rakkir Watson, James Bertholf (older age group)
3-on-3 Champions: Kenny Presti, Zayne Watson, Shane Rennison (younger age group); Marcus Daniels-Penn, Kyle Ruperd, Rakkir Watson (older age group)
4-on-4 Champions: Marshon Williams, James Bertholf, Patrick Ramos, Talon Watson, Lah-Juan Drayton (older age group)
Hot Shot: Kenny Presti (younger age group); Patrick Ramos (older age group)
Musical Chairs: Kenny Presti (younger age group)
3-Point Shooting: Rakkir Watson (older age group); Jiron Kevii (younger age group)
Foul Shot Contest Champion: Shane Rennison (younger age group); Tré Branch (older age group)
Mr. Hustle: Brett Fiske (younger age group); Justin Weintraub (middle age group); James Bertholf (older age group)
The awards recipients in the 7 to 9 age group were: Coach’s Award – Brett Fiske; Most Improved – Earl Schoonmaker; MVP – Zayne Watson.
The awards recipients in the 10 to 12 age group were: Coach’s Award – Jarrett Madison; Most Improved – Jiron Kevii; MVP – Rakkir Watson.
The awards recipients in the 13-and-over age group were: Coach’s Award – Tré Branch; Most Improved – Talon Watson; MVP – Marcus Daniels Penn.
The camp participants were as follows:
7 to 9 age group: Shane Black, Brett Fiske, Durin Kim, Shane Rennison, Earl Schoonmaker, Zayne Watson.
10 to 12 age group: Douglas Baum, Lah-Juan Drayton, Jiron Kevii, Shane Luczyski, Jarrett Madison, Kenneth Presti, Patrick Ramos, Rakkir Watson, Justin Weintraub
13-and-over age group: James Bertholf, Tré Branch, Braiden DeGraw, Kai Jackson, Marcus Daniels-Penn, Evan Moyes, Kyle Ruperd, Matthew Sze, Ryan Taylor, Talon Watson, Austin Williams-Cunningham, Marshon Williams.

top of page  |  home  |  archives