Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Rob Potter | Democrat

MEMBERS OF THE Roscoe varsity boys’ basketball team received a certificate and congratulations from Coach Fred Ahart, who is shaking hands with Christopher Jaindl. The team members presented Superintendent Carmine Giangreco with the second place plaque from last December’s Roscoe Blue Devil Tournament.

Roscoe Central Honors Athletes

By Rob Potter
ROSCOE — June 15, 2007 — Dozens of Roscoe Central School athletes were honored during at the annual RCS athletic banquet on Thursday, June 7 at The Rockland House.
At the beginning of the program, a moment of silence was observed to honor Kelly Lackey.
On October 27, 2006, Lackey, a member of the Livingston Manor/Roscoe football team, was severely injured in a motor vehicle accident. Three weeks later, the 17-year-old Lackey passed away due to injuries from the accident – which also claimed the life of fellow Livingston Manor Central School senior Adam Lasky.
In his welcoming remarks, Principal Scott Haberli praised the athletes and coaches for their accomplishments this school year.
After athletes, parents, coaches, RCS administrators, staff members and guests enjoyed a delicious dinner and dessert, each of the 2006-2007 Blue Devil and Lady Blue Devil teams were recognized by Athletic Director Fred Ahart and the respective team coaches.
The members of those teams were as follows:
Livingston Manor/Roscoe football (Coaches Fred Ahart and Kevin Clifford and Assistants William Hendrickson, Daniel Parisi, Jeff Loeffler, Dave Irwin): James Baker, Joe Barotti, Eric Bonilla, Nathan Brock, Randall Closs, Ethan Darbee, Seth Darbee, Mike Diescher, Troy Edwards, Josh Gorr, Guy Gugliotta, Mike Hendrickson, Kelly Lackey, John Lundeen, Deon Mendez, Justin Mendez, Patrick Mershon, Mike Miesner, Russell Mootz, Anthony Rajewski, Axel Robinson, Stephen Rogers, Tyler Schmidt, Carlos Thomas, Chris Torres, Shane Weidenfeld and Brett Youngblood.
Kelly Lackey was named to the Section IX All-League Team, while Tyler Schmidt was named Section IX Honorable Mention.
Girls’ Soccer (Coach Amanda Davis, Assistant Coach Cliff Anderson): Kasse Brock, Paige Clancy, Kelly Darbee, Taylor DeVantier, Angelica DiVita, Abigail Dusseldorp, Sky Dutcher, Nicole Failla, Angelique Feeney, Brighid Fogarty, Katelyn Horton, Amanda Huggins, Shoshana Mitchell and Kate Papa.
Boys’ Basketball (Coach Fred Ahart, Assistant Coach J.R. DeVantier): Walter Bury, John Clancy, Seth Darbee, Cody DeRosia, Alexander Feeney, Justin Haas, Jayson Harris, Christopher Jaindl, Justin Klinger, Joseph Ladenhauf and Patrick Mershon.
Boys’ Junior Varsity Basketball (Coach J.R. DeVantier): Dylan Bowers, Nathan Brock, Randall Closs, Brandon King, David Lake, John Lundeen, Shane Murphy, Torin Murphy and Anthony Rajewski.
Winter Cheerleaders (Co-Coach Lisa Failla, Co-Coach Lori Hendrickson): Crystal Argent, Ashley Baker, Pamela Bossdorf, Britni Brookins, Jordan DeRosia, Angelica DiVita, Abigail Dusseldorp, Angelique Feeney, Ashley McMichael, Stephanie Nieves, Kate Papa and Agnes Piatek.
Girls’ Junior Varsity Basketball (Coach Rebecca Ahart): Kiera Browne, Paige Clancy, Taylor DeVantier, Sky Dutcher, Catherine Greenthal, Katelyn Horton, Amanda Huggins, Molly Krivit and Amanda Ladenhauf.
Junior Varsity Baseball (Coach Brian Smith, Assistant Coach Daniel Parisi): Clay Banks, Nathan Brock, Patrick Buchholz, John Clancy, Randall Closs, Jeremy Collette, Ethan Darbee, Jayson Harris, Adam Hendrix, Bruce Huggins, Brandon King, Christopher Jaindl, Joshua Lawrence, Torin Murphy and Shane Weidenfeld.
Junior Varsity Softball (Coach Amanda Davis, Assistant Coach Peter DeVantier): Kasse Brock, Britni Brookins, Kiera Browne, Paige Clancy, Kelly Darbee, Taylor DeVantier, Angelique Feeney, Brighid Fogarty, Catherine Greenthal, Katelyn Horton, Amanda Huggins, Amanda Ladenhauf, Shoshana Mitchell and Agnes Piatek.
Boys’ Golf (Coach Rebecca Ackerly, Assistant Coach Lisa Failla): Dylan Bowers, William Browne, Michael Failla, Jesse Huggins, David Lake and Harrison Muller.
Girls’ Golf (Coach Cheryl Bowers, Assistant Coach Lisa Failla): Nicole Ackerley, Alexandra Bishop, Nicole Failla, Martha Fassberger, Andrea Griebel, Ashley McMichael, Samantha Molinari and Rebecca Welton.
Also recognized at the event were seniors Nicole Failla and Tyler Schmidt. Earlier this spring, they were named the Orange County Interscholastic Athletic Association (OCIAA) Scholar-Athletes for RCS and attended the OCIAA Scholar-Athlete breakfast in Middletown.
Service certificates for keeping the boys’ basketball statistics were presented to Paige Clancy, Taylor DeVantier and Sky Dutcher.
Five senior athletes were honored for earning at least six varsity letters during their RCS careers. Justin Haas and Patrick Mershon received jackets for earning six letters, Kasse Brock and Kate Papa received RCS Devil patches for earning eight varsity letters and Diana Failla received a trophy for earning 10 letters.
Near the end of the program, Superintendent Carmine Giangreco reminded the young athletes about the important values – such as sportsmanship and teamwork – they can learn while competing for the Blue Devil and Lady Blue Devil teams.
“Every time you go out and play and do your best, you’re a winner,” he said.

top of page  |  home  |  archives