Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Contributed Photo

The 2006 White Lake Raceway Champions who were honored the Sunday, May 20 banquet were, from left to right, Joe Barnes, Pro-Stock; Paul Dodorico, Legend; Skip Lapolt, Street Stock; Mike Houghtaling, 4 Cylinder Senior; Jamie Hughson, 4 Cylinder Junior; John Cote, WLR Modified and Jason Chevalier, Pure Stock.

Champs Get
Their Due

Contributed Report
WHITE LAKE — May 29, 2007 — Seven points champions from the 2006 season were recognized and celebrated on Sunday, May 20 at the Jeffersonville Inn in Jeffersonville during the gathering of friends of White Lake Raceway.
Three returning champions – Paul Dodorico (Legends 2004 and 2005), Mike Houghtaling (4- Cylinder Senior 2004) and Joe Barnes (Pro-Stock, Street Stock 1997) – were joined by four first-time champions: John Cote (Modified), Skip Lapolt (Street Stock), Jason Chevalier (Pure Stock) and Jamie Hughson (4- Cylinder Junior).
Trophies and certificates were awarded and custom-embroidered jackets by Anne’s Embroidery Shop were presented to those seven champions.
Jamie Hughson also received special recognition as the first ever female driver to win a division championship at the track.  A rule book from 40 years ago stated that women were not even allowed in the pits.
Retiring driver Ray Houghtaling was recognized and applauded.
The Lifetime Dedication to Racing award was presented to longtime flagger Bryan Patterson.
Russ Meyer and Eddie and Joann Stevens were each presented a gift of thanks for their contributions, along with flagger/scorer Phil Geib, Clyde Chevalier, Donna Conklin, the McGibbon family, the LaPolt family, Margie and Jack Foster, the Foster family and Bobbi and Steve Height.
Special thanks was given to Mike and Donna Aumick for their efforts.
The crowd of approximately 100 people enjoyed the event, which was hosted by Diane and Jim Hughson and featured a delicious buffet and music.
The banquet attendees were also thrilled by the appearance of 13 past champions: John Marcinak, Pete Gardner, Norm Barnes, Steve Conklin, Howie Murphy, Jim Fugel, Mike Dean, Jesse Hilger, Eric Andresen, Dan Curry, Jerry Curry, Ray VanDerMolen, and Mike Herman. Each of those former title winners were recognized and presented with certificates.
While there are no plans for racing this summer at the quarter-mile asphalt oval, hopes are high that there will be a new promoter for the 2008 season.
A trophy/award fund has been set up by the friends that organized the gathering. For more information, please log onto or call 557-6274.

top of page  |  home  |  archives