Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives

SW waves winter sports away

By Rob Potter
LAKE HUNTINGTON — March 18, 2008 — The Sullivan West Central School District honored the student-athletes who participated on its varsity and junior varsity sports teams for the 2007-2008 winter sports season on Thursday night in the Sullivan West High School auditorium in Lake Huntington.
An audience filled with family members, friends, faculty and administrators looked on as the SW coaches spoke about the accomplishments of their respective teams during the recently completed winter season.
Co-High School Principal Margaret Tenbus and Athletic Director David Franskevicz praised the student-athletes and coaches for their efforts this winter.
“I congratulate all of the teams on a successful season,” Franskevicz said.
During their individual presentations, each of the varsity coaches presented special awards to two of their players.
Coach Tom Clifford said that the boys’ and girls’ alpine skiing teams “had a competitive season.”
“We had two seniors, Stefan Levinson and Cara Davies,” Clifford said. “We will really miss them next season.”
Clifford and Assistant Coach Lionel Billard then presented the Most Improved Female Skier award to Hanna Feinman, the Lowest Scoring Female Skier award to Kassie Thelman, the Most Improved Male Skier award to Alex Lander and the Lowest Scoring Male Skier award to Stefan Levinson.
The girls’ alpine skiing team members were Cara Davies, Hanna Feinman, Kendell Menges, Kassie Thelman and Kellee Thelman.
The members of the boys’ alpine skiing team included Drew Billard, Michael Bingay, Matt Davies, Jesse Durant, Kyle Flynn, Zackary Keller, Alex Lander, Stefan Levinson, Eric Lovgren, Rich Meihofer, Patrick Murphy, Alan Perrelli and Justin Ziser.
Coach Bruce Nober praised the members of the junior varsity boys’ basketball team for “playing really hard” during the season.
The members of the team included: Lucas Bauer, Michael Durkin, Chris Ellison, E.J. Franskevicz, Andy Kinch, Eric Leewe, Alex Manzi, Michael Pierce, John Story, Justin Zaccari
When he stepped to the podium, Coach Cliff Kelly thanked the members of the boys’ varsity basketball team as well as Assistant Coach Pat Donovan and Assistant Coach Bruce Nober for their work this season.
Kelly praised his players for their perseverance during a season in which they narrowly missed qualifying for the sectional tournament.
Kelly and Donovan then presented the team’s Coaches’ Award to Chris Story and Most Valuable Player award to Brad Reimer.
The members of the team included Justin Armstrong, Gabriel Lagrutta, Jason Leewe, Arthur Norden, Brad Reimer, R.J. Rosa, Austin Sauer, Harold Smith, Chris Story, Reed Scott (manager).
Coach Joe Seidl noted that the girls’ winter indoor track team had an outstanding season. The Lady Bulldogs won the Sullivan County championship and also captured the Orange County Interscholastic Athletic Association (OCIAA) Division IV title with a perfect 9-0 record.
Seidl presented the Most Valuable Winter Track Athlete award to Sara Alsdorf and the Winter Indoor Track “Commitment to Excellence” award to Chelsie Schadt.
The members of the girls’ indoor track team included Sara Alsdorf, Kendra Barker, Katey Dnistrian, Rianne Erlwein, Alyssa Gorr, Morgan Hawkins, Ashley Mahoney, Kathryn Manzi, Jamie Moran, Elizabeth Peters, Kasi Pilney, Brittany Reddish, Stephany Robison, Chelsie Schadt, Christina Scozzari and Oliva Seidl.
Coach Ron Bauer noted that the boys’ indoor track team finished third in OCIAA Division IV and had many outstanding individual performances during the season.
Bauer presented the Most Valuable Winter Indoor Track Athlete award to Colin Seidl and the Most Valuable Winter Indoor Field Athlete award to Will Schlott.
The members of the boys’ indoor track team included Russell Bryan, Derrick Clarke, Brendan Creegan, Eric DeLaurencio, Mitch Ellmauer, Austin Erlwein, Rich Feeney, Kyle Freda, Patrick Graham, Chris Murphy, Jimmy O’Connor, Dallas Ripley, Michael Sandler, Vaughn Schlott, Will Schlott, Colin Seidl, T.J. Telesky, Mark Tesseyman, Brandon Wagner, Kyle Welsch and John Whitaker.
Coach Brad Molusky praised the members of the girls’ junior varsity basketball team for their dedication this season.
The members of the team included Autumn Ackermann, Rachel Dickey, Michelle Dresch, Jillian Fife, Shelby Grishaber, Gabrielle Humleker, Brianna Kline, Lynette Lacek, Regina Nicoletti, Heather Puerschner, Cindy Szelflinski, Joanna Trujillo, Kim Yewchuk and Jessica Zaccari.
Ron Bernhardt, Coach of the girls’ varsity basketball team, thanked Assistant Coach Billy Smith and Assistant Coach Kurt Scheibe Jr., the players, statisticians and fans for this season.
While the Lady Bulldogs’ season ended with a difficult loss to John S. Burke Catholic High School in a Section IX Class B semifinal game, Bernhardt noted that the team finished with an 18-3 overall record and defeated two previously unbeaten teams – Burke and S.S. Seward during the season.
By defeating Burke on Feb. 15, the Lady Bulldogs earned a share of the OCIAA Division IV title.
“We are extremely proud to be the only Section IX girls’ basketball team to defeat Burke this year,” Bernhardt said.
He lauded the team’s two seniors – Sarah Lander and Jenn Pitz – for their dedication to the team the past few seasons.
Bernhardt and Smith presented the Best Defensive Player award to Rachel Houghtaling and the Most Valuable Player award to Jenn Pitz.
The team members included Vicky Argueta, Lindsey Bauer, Kristen Drobysh, Katrina Graby, Rachel Houghtaling, Melanie Kleiner, Sarah Lander, Ella MacDonald, Lindsey Murphy, Jennifer Pitz and Samantha Vandiver.

top of page  |  home  |  archives