Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Ted Waddell | Democrat

MONTICELLO'S VINNY BRUGALETTA tries to lock up the arm of Minisink Valley’s Sean Fitzgerald during their 140-pound bout in Thursday night’s OCIAA Division II wrestling match at Monticello High School.

Minisink Valley Tops Monticello

By Ted Waddell
MONTICELLO — February 6, 2007 — The Warriors of Minisink Valley defeated the host Monticello Panthers, 66-12, Thursday night in an Orange County Interscholastic Athletic Association (OCIAA) Division II wrestling match.
With the victory, Minisink Valley improved its record to 16-4 overall and 3-0 in Division II. Monticello dropped to 6-4 overall and 1-4 in Division II.
“It was a good match, I thought we wrestled pretty tough,” Minisink Valley Coach Kevin Gallagher said.
“They have some good kids, a lot of good wrestlers,” he said of the Monticello team.
Commenting upon the Monticello High School gymnasium bleachers being filled almost to capacity, Gallagher said, “They had a good crowd here tonight… this is what wrestling’s all about.”
Monticello Coach Ed Kaufmann, who has been guiding the Panthers for nearly three decades, said, “The kids wrestled good. I’m happy with the effort, the seniors gave it their all, and that’s all you can ask for.
“We lost to some quality kids,” Kaufmann added.
Before the match, five Monticello seniors – Andres Diaz, Jesse Campanaro, Andrew Moss, Alexis Bruno and Rodney Stickle – were honored for their years of dedication to the Panthers’ wrestling program.
Complete results of the match are as follows:
96 pounds – Kyle Diesel (Minisink Valley) won by forfeit; 103 – Ross Potter (MV) defeated William Latimer by technical fall in 3 minutes, 49 seconds; 112 – Zach Eloanciw (MV) pinned Jerry Taggart in 3:52; 119 – Jerry Biddle (MV) pinned Andres Diaz in 1:49; 125 – John Bowens (Monticello) defeated Mike Corletta by a 11-4 decision; 130 – Rob Weber (MV) pinned Anthony Aber in 1:41; 135 – Rich Dalton (MV) won by forfeit; 140 – Vinny Brugaletta (Monticello) defeated Sean Fitzgerald by a 7-1 decision; 145 – Cory Lempka (MV) pinned Jesse Campanaro; 152 – James Brain defeated Andrew Moss by a majority decision, 13-0; 160 – Ross Hansen (MV) pinned Anthony D’Abbraccio in 38 seconds; 171 – Justin Diesel (MV) won by forfeit; 189 – Alexis Bruno (Monticello) pinned Tom Eloanciw in 1:10; 215 – Tyler Morse (MV) defeated Rodney Stickle by a 3-0 decision; 275 – Brendan Byrne (MV) pinned Cory Waichman in 3:41.

top of page  |  home  |  archives