Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Ted Waddell | Democrat

REFEREE DAN O'BANKS watches closely as Monticello’s John Bowers prepares to pin Rondout Valley’s Eric Schmidt in their 125-pound match during Tuesday night’s non-league wrestling dual meet at Monticello.

Monticello Panthers Score Wresting Victory

By Ted Waddell
MONTICELLO — January 26, 2007 — Tuesday night’s non-league wrestling match featured the host Panthers of Monticello versus the Rondout Valley Ganders, and by the final buzzer the home team had defeated the visitors, 53-21.
Monticello improved its record to 6-3, while RV fell to 3-4.
“We’re young, they’re just a little better than us, and hopefully in a couple of years we’ll be there,” RV Coach Lou D’Nise said.
“Right now we have a lot of work to do,” he added.
D’Nise credited the performance of Bryan McLean (103 pounds) and Jordan Smith (135 pounds).
Ed Kaufmann has been involved in the wrestling program at Monticello Central School since 1975, except for a two-year hiatus while he was picking up his administrative certificate.
This is his 26th year coaching at the varsity level.
Kaufmann’s picks for his team’s most outstanding grapplers in the match?
“Aaron Levine, who filled in for Jimmy McLachlan who was injured, did a nice job, and Jerry Taggart, who’s been bumped up from 96 [pounds] to 112 has been teeter-tottering on winning… and then there are the always reliables – Alexis Bruno, Rodney Stickle, Vinny Brugaletta, Jesse Campanaro and Andrew Moss,” Kaufmann said.
Complete results of the match are as follows:
96 pounds – Colin Dimler (Roundout Valley) won by forfeit; 103 – Bryan McLean (RV) pinned William Latimer in 3 minutes, 21 seconds; 112 – Jerry Taggart (Monticello) pinned George Newell in 1:00; 119 – Andre Diaz (M) pinned Greg Soloberg in 48 seconds; 125 – John Bowens (M) pinned Eric Schmidt in 5:53; 130 – Nate Alongi (RV) defeated Anthony Aber, 9-3; 135 – Jordan Smith (RV) pinned Kyle Bennett in 1:45; 140 – Vinny Brugaletta (M) pinned Maxx Stratton in 1:30; 145 – Andrew Moss (M) pinned John Kelder in 3:30; 152 – Jesse Campanero (M) defeated Andrew Tully by technical fall, 15-0; 160 – Anthony D’Abbraccio (M) pinned Brad McLean in 1:50; 171 – Aaron Levine (M) pinned Mike Bush in 4:38; 189 – Alexis Bruno (M) pinned Mike O’Brien in 58 seconds; 215 – Rodney Stickle (M) pinned Steve Sorbello in 5:49; 275 – Corey Waichman (M) won by forfeit.

top of page  |  home  |  archives