Sullivan County Democrat
Callicoon, New York
January 22, 2010 Issue
National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
Established 1891
news | sports | obituaries | archives | classifieds | subscribe | links | contact | tv listings | lottery



"The Wild Gardener"
Peter Loewer's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"The Mouth That Roars"
Bill Liblick's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"Inside Out"
Jeanne Sager's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"Give Us Paws"
Ruth Huggler's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

John Conway's Look Back at the History of Sullivan County

Sullivan Renaissance

Sullivan County Chamber
Of Commerce & Industry

Sullivan County
Visitor's Association

Sullivan County
Government Center

Sullivan County
Partnership for
Economic Development

Please visit our
Community Links
section for other
Sullivan County

PLEASE NOTE: If you bookmark a particular link from the current news, sports or obituaries offered on our Website, be aware that the URL address will change once it is archived. Bookmarking an archived link is therefore the surest way to retain access to a particular article.


Rob Potter | Democrat

LINDSEY MURPHY WAS honored as the Female Most Valuable Senior Athlete during Wednesday night’s awards ceremony at Sullivan West Central School.

Spring stars shine at Sullivan West

By Rob Potter
LAKE HUNTINGTON — The Sullivan West Central School District honored dozens of student-athletes who participated on the district’s sports teams during the recently completed spring season.
The district also honored its senior athletes for their accomplishments during the last four years.
Athletic Director Dave Franskevicz noted the spring season was very successful for the SW athletes and coaches.
“This was an outstanding season for our sports teams,” he said. “Our spring sports teams won five championships, which brings the total number of championships earned by our teams this school year to 10.
“Sullivan West is pleased to be one of the leading Class B schools around,” Franskevicz added.
The five spring championship teams Franskevicz spoke of are: Baseball (Orange County Interscholastic Athletic Association Division IV), Boys’ Track (Section IX Class C), Girls’ Track (OCIAA Division IV), Boys’ Golf (OCIAA Division IV) and Girls’ Golf (OCIAA Division IV).
Franskevicz also praised seniors Justin Armstrong and Ella MacDonald for representing SW as OCIAA Scholar Athletes. Armstrong and MacDonald earned their OCIAA Scholar Athlete Awards at a breakfast on April 29 in Middletown.
When each coach took their turn at the podium, they spoke about their season and praised their players. The coaches also thanked everyone who worked hard to make the season so successful, from assistant coaches to parents to volunteers to community members.
The coaches also presented awards to two members of their team.
Those teams were as follows:
Girls’ Track (Coach Joe Seidl, Assistant Coach George Shakelton): Sara Alsdorf, Kendra Barker, Vanessa Brey, Rachel Deppa, Rebecca Deppa, Katey Dnistrian, Megan Eichele, Rianne Erlwein, Hannah Feinman, Katrina Graby, Morgan Hawkins, Ashley Mahoney, Kathryn Manzi, Lindsey Murphy, Danielle Myers, Kasi Pilny, Brittany Reddish, Stephany Robison, Olivia Seidl and Kristina Sumfleth.
Most Valuable Track Athlete – Morgan Hawkins, Most Valuable Field Athlete – Kendra Barker
Boys’ Track (Coach Ron Bauer, Assistant Coach George Shakelton): Angelo Bibbo, Russell Bryan, Cruz Burgos, Erik Burton, Charlie Ciccione, Derrick Clarke, Austin Erlwein, Kyle Flynn, Tyler Groh, Gabe LaGrutta, Eric Leewe, Chris Murphy, Anthony Nicoletti, Matt Pitz, Latii Rabii, Dallas Ripley, Vaughn Schlott, Colin Seidl, Michael Sheldon, Shawn Taylor, Brandon Wagner and John Whittaker
Most Valuable Track Athlete – Colin Seidl, Most Improved Track Athlete – Austin Erlwein
Junior Varsity Softball (Coach Billy Smith): Amber Cookingham, Rebecca Corcillo, Amanda Goddard, Maya Grady, Samantha Knecht, Kendall Menges, Brittany Milk, Jackie Parsons, Heather Puerschner, Amanda Rosenberger and Emma Seidl
Varsity Softball (Coach Mike Ellmauer, Assistant Coach Diane Staves, Assistant Coach Ken Uy): Autumn Ackermann, Lindsey Bauer, Colleen Chudik, Angela DiSanto, Katerina Gaebel, Gabrielle Humleker, Alessandra Imbesei, Danielle Meyer, Morgan Pretty, Julianne Reggero, LeeAnn Rhodes, Hannah Schwatz, Joanna Trujillo and Ruby Wheaton
Most Improved – Lindsey Bauer, Miss Softball – Autumn Ackermann
Junior Varsity Baseball (Coach James Henry, Assistant Coach Jim O’Connor): Shawn Bailey, Kitt Borowski, E.J. Franskevicz, Bradley Gruber, Andy Kinch, Chris Lang, Eric Lovgren, Mark Michel, Richard Mirch, Jimmy O’Connor, Andrew Parsons, Michael Pierce, Todd Roeder and Justin Zaccari
Varsity Baseball (Coach Kurt Scheibe Jr., Assistant Coach Anthony Durkin, Assistant Volunteer Coach Pat Donovan, Manager Ben Mitterwager): Ryan Alsdorf, Lucas Bauer, Jeremy DeGori, Michael Durkin, Michael Friberger, Logan Grishaber, Ryan Michel, Eric Minton, Gaston Owen, Bradley Reimer, R.J. Rosa, Austin Sauer, Harold Smith and Mark Tesseyman
Mr. Baseball – Mark Tesseyman, Most Valuable Player – Bradley Reimer
Varsity Girls’ Golf (Coach Jeff Molusky): Megan Calkin, Rachel Dickey, Jillian Fife, Meghan Lowe, Courtney Schadt, Samantha Sedlack and Claire Stabbert
Most Improved Golfer – Megan Calkin, Most Valuable Golfer – Jillian Fife
Varsity Boys’ Golf (Coach Bob Fife): Justin Armstrong, Brice Billard, Drew Billard, Kevin Correa, Brendan Creegan, Jamie Davis, Mitch Ellmauer, Michael Hahn, Cody Keesler, Melanie Kleiner, Alex Lander, Greg MacArthur, Arthur Norden, Kyle Schmidt, Nicholas Shevak, Richard Smith and Stephen Smith
Coach’s Award – Melanie Kleiner, Most Valuable Golfer – Justin Armstrong.
Several senior awards were also presented. They included:
Sullivan West Coaches Award, which is presented to an outstanding graduating male and female athlete who have exemplified the ideals, standards and personal discipline which is needed to succeed in varsity athletics and life. The recipients were Kasi Pilny and Logan Grishaber.
Milt Gaebel Awards, which were created in 1995-1996 in the former Jeffersonville-Youngsville Central School District to honor Milt Gaebel. The awards are presented in honor of Gaebel’s “determination, perseverance, dedication and loyalty to sports.”
The recipients were Sara Alsdorf and Gaston Owen.
Most Valuable Senior Athletes, a group which is chosen from the graduating class after an extensive point system is applied.
The Female Select Senior Athletes included: Sara Alsdorf, Colleen Chudik, Melanie Kleiner, Ella MacDonald, Lindsey Murphy, Kasi Pilny, Morgan Pretty, Brittany Reddish and Claire Stabbert.
The Female Most Valuable Senior Athlete Award was presented to Lindsey Murphy.
The Male Select Senior Athletes included: Justin Armstrong, Kevin Correa, Mitch Ellmauer, Logan Grishaber, Eric Minton, Gaston Owen, Brad Reimer, Dallas Ripley, Colin Seidl, Vaughn Schlott, Harold Smith and John Whittaker.
The Male Most Valuable Senior Athlete Award was presented to Brad Reimer and Colin Seidl.
The final award of the evening was the Billy Moran Scholarship Award. The award honors the memory of Billy Moran, an outstanding student-athlete at the former Delaware Valley Central School District. He died in 1981 after being hit by a drunk driver in Daytona Beach, Fla. In an effort to keep his memory alive, his family and friends established the Billy Moran Scholarship.
Brent Rosenberger, who was Moran’s best friend, presented the $2,500 scholarship award to Justin Armstrong.