Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives

Rob Potter | Democrat

Players and coaches in the Monticello Area Football and Cheerleading Organization are anxiously awaiting the start of their Orange County Youth Football League season.

MAFCO gears up for its sixth season

By Rob Potter
MONTICELLO — September 7, 2010 — Exciting things are happening for the Monticello Area Football and Cheerleading Organization (MAFCO).
In addition to starting its sixth season later this week, the youth football program broke ground three weeks ago for a new field at the Town of Thompson Park.
“We have received a great deal of support from Town of Thompson Supervisor Tony Cellini, George Cooke and the whole town board,” MAFCO President Morris Schrader said. “We are hoping to open the field next year.”
MAFCO also has a big fundraising event coming up in the next few weeks. On Friday, Oct. 2 Northeast Wrestling and radio station Thunder 102 will hold Thunder Slam at 7:30 p.m. at the Liberty High School. Professional wrestlers scheduled to appear on the card include Tommy Dreamer, Mickie James and Jerry “The King” Lawler.
The fundraiser will benefit MAFCO and the Liberty High School Booster Club.
“The wrestling fundraiser is part of our goal to take MAFCO to all of Sullivan County,” Schrader said.
He noted that the majority of the youngsters in the program are from Monticello, but a few reside in other parts of the county.
A total of 119 kids – 83 football players and 36 cheerleaders – are participating in MAFCO this autumn. There are four MAFCO Panthers football teams and three MAFCO Panthers cheerleading teams. The football teams include: Mighty Mites (ages 6-7), Division I (ages 7-8), Division II (ages 9-11) and Division III (ages 12-13). The cheerleading teams are Mighty Mites (ages 5-7), Division I (ages 8-10) and Division III (ages 11-13).
Once again this season, the Panthers teams will be playing in the Orange County Youth Football League (OCYFL). The league has paid referees and plays by high school football rules. Some of MAFCO’s opponents include Minisink Valley, Pine Bush, Port Jervis and Washingtonville.
Schrader said that for the second consecutive year the Panthers teams have been invited to play in a Turkey Bowl at the end of the season in Port Jervis.
All of the MAFCO coaches attended the recent Cheerfest event, which featured 100 coaches from OCYFL teams.
OCYFL President Bill Rielly made it a point to congratulate the MAFCO for being the only program to have all of its coaches attend the event.
Schrader noted that was nice to see the MAFCO coaches recognized. He added that all of the head coaches of the MAFCO teams have been certified through the SUNY Youth Sports Coaching program.
Preparation for the upcoming season has been going very well.
“We are definitely on a journey to excellence,” MAFCO Secretary Charlotte Mattice said.
She noted that “the Mighty Mites did an awesome job” at a recent scrimmage.”
“The cheerleaders have been fantastic this year,” Schrader commented.
All of the MAFCO officials are proud of the progress the program had made since its first season in 2005.
“What we have accomplished so far is because of our perseverance and determination,” Schrader said.
He and everyone in MAFCO appreciates the support the organization has received from local businesses and individuals. Among the people who have helped are Tony and Sue Poli, who provided the land for Poli Field where the MAFCO teams hold practices and games, Bill Culligan of the Town of Thompson Parks and Recreation Department and volunteers Mariella Detzauer, Jessica Meyer, Cheryl Stickle and Mike Wolcott who work the concession stand at Poli field during MAFCO practices and games.
Among the local businesses which sponsor MAFCO are The Athlete’s Foot, Catskill Towing and Recovery, Maplewood Auto Services Center and the Monticello Meat Market.
Anyone who wants to learn more about making a donation or becoming a sponsor should visit the MAFCO Web site at
The MAFCO Board of Directors and Coaches include: President Morris Schrader, Vice President Brian Stickle, Commissioner Dennis Martin, Football Director Lisa Burns, Treasurer Christine Schrader and Secretary Charlotte Mattice.
The coaches include: Mighty Mites – Head Coach Scott Brannigan, Assistant Coach Robert Harrison, Assistant Coach Peter Lutman. Division I – Head Coach Florencio Torres, Assistant Coach Allen Washburn, Assistant Coach Nathaniel Combs. Division II – Head Coach Dave Luczyski, Assistant Head Coach Jesse York, Assistant Coach Thomas Downey, Assistant Coach DeShawn Booker, Division III – Head Coach Duane Staten, Assistant Head Coach Antoine Reid, Assistant Coach Jesse Steiner, Cheerleading – Mighty Mites – Head Coach Kenya Snowden, Division I – Head Coach Meicha Stergis, Division III – Melinda Green, Junior Coaches – Morris Schrader III, Brian Stickle, Ethan Sherwood, Christian Berrios.
The players and cheerleaders are as follows:
Mighty Mites Football Team – Max Baum, Michael Brown Jr., Joshua Detzauer, Marcus Detzauer, Malikhi Forbes, Robert Harrison, Aiden Kearney, Peter Joshua Lutman, Sincere McNeal, Tommy Merton, Jarell Millien, Dakaiy Morrison, Xander Powell, Aiden Rosentein, Logan Sherwood, Ramal Snowden, Destiny Staten, Nicholas Taermino and Nikolas Griffen Torres.
Division I Football Team – Jesse Acevedo, Austin Beach, Steven Beauregard, Kevin Brito, Kristian Calderon, Kiyel Combs, Zachary Detzauer, Aaron Diaz, Douglas Doherty, Elijah Gavins, Nigel Herbert, Angel Montalvo, Amari Nix, Ameir Nix, Donovan Powell, Devin Ranne, Brandon Schrader, Alonzo Stergis, Thomas Vaeth and Vincent Wright.
Division II Football Team – Jacob Abrahamson, Mark Adams, Dion Bottaro, Michaela Bradshaw, Desaan Clark, Tahleek Clark, Braiden DiMartino, Erik Downey, Thomas Gates-Nieves, Brooklyn Giaccone, Kevin McCarthy, Donte Medina, Yachelgel Ogbonna, Christian Phillips, John Ploschke, Xavier Ramos, Raeleigh Ranne, Jermey Schuk, Dezmon Smith, Tron Snowden Jr., Romero Tanco, Tyron Walker, Lantz Wilbert and DayShawn York.
Division III Football Team – Rodney Batista, Christopher Collazo, Malcom Combs, Tyrell Fields, Shyheim Graham, Noel Hernandez, Shykel Hillard, Tyrek Hinton, Travon Jarrette, Shawn Kearney, Christain Meachum, Sterling Morrison, Ryan Ranne, Brandon Reinshagen, Tarig Stoney, Devin Williams, Ellazar Williams and Jaquito Williams.
Mighty Mites Cheerleading Team – Gianna DeMaio, Natalia Diaz, Tara Downey, Allyson Guerra, Elissa Kearney, Jenna Morton, Zoe Moore, Destiny Pagan, Morgan Price, Cierra Rodriguez, Jesney Nunez Santos and Jeanne M. Van Pelt.
Division I Cheerleading Team – Aaliyah Courtney, Lindsey Cruz, Ariel DeGroat, Kassidy Detzauer, Alexis England, Madison Graham, Jada Jones, Lauren LaRue, Evangelina Lugardo, Ezra Ogbonna, Elionay Reyes, Ashlyn Rivera, Angelia Snowden, Sanaia Tanco and Frances Van Pelt.
Division III Cheerleading Team – Nonicah Clark, Niyera Hilliard, Taylor Nelson, Chassidy Prokosch, Selena Prokosch, Naszay Stergis, Dejarah York, Shakiah York and Thalia Vargas.

top of page  |  home  |  archives