Sullivan County Democrat
Callicoon, New York
March 1, 2013 Issue
National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
Established 1891
news | sports | obituaries | archives | classifieds | subscribe | NEW! buy photos | links | contact | tv listings | lottery



Sullivan County Democrat

Promote Your Page Too

"The Wild Gardener"
Peter Loewer's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"The Mouth That Roars"
Bill Liblick's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"Inside Out"
Jeanne Sager's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

"Give Us Paws"
Ruth Huggler's Weekly
Column in the Democrat

John Conway's Look Back at the History of Sullivan County

Sullivan Renaissance

Sullivan County Chamber
Of Commerce & Industry

Sullivan County
Visitor's Association

Sullivan County
Government Center

Sullivan County
Partnership for
Economic Development

Please visit our
Community Links
section for other
Sullivan County


Election results
favor incumbents

By Dan Hust
SULLIVAN COUNTY — Voters stuck with incumbents across the five Sullivan County villages holding elections this past Tuesday.
Then again, all but Liberty’s and Monticello’s were uncontested.
Following are the unofficial results, with definitive winners marked in bold. Absentee ballots will begin being counted on March 28 by the Sullivan County Board of Elections.
Mayor Mark Berentsen was voted back into office by 17 Bloomingburg residents, while 20 returned Charles Griswold to his trustee seat. Both will serve two years.
Trustees William Thony and Kevin Walter faced no opposition and were given two more years by 13 and 12 Jeffersonville voters, respectively.
Liberty trustees Luis Alvarez and Joan Stoddard – with 144 and 132 votes, respectively – are currently in the lead for their two-year seats, but with at least 22 absentee ballots left to count (and more possibly coming), challenger Matthew DeFrank has a chance to gain one of those seats, as he already holds 125 votes.
Monticello Mayor Gordon Jenkins easily retained his seat for another four years, garnering 401 votes compared to David Rosenberg’s 233 and Victor Marinello’s 222.
But he can’t yet be firmly proclaimed the victor, as at least 244 absentee ballots remain to be counted (and possibly more still in the mail).
That also applies to the race for two four-year trustee seats.
Incumbent Carmen Rue has got the lead currently, with 400 votes. Trailing her the closest is Larissa Bennett, with 374 votes. Shannon Jackson Daniel isn’t far behind, with 364 votes, followed by Charlie Sabatino with 337.
One trustee candidate, Morton Turick, has too far to climb, however, with just 55 votes thus far.
With 24 votes in hand, Trustee Barbara Semonite will serve another two years.

Copyright © 1999-2013 Catskill-Delaware Publications.
The information you receive online from the Sullivan County Democrat Online Edition is protected by the copyright laws of the United States. Content contained within this website is for the sole and exclusive use of Catskill-Delaware Publications. Please read our user agreement and our use information
privacy statement.
Internet Services provided by Time Warner, Site Design by Green Enterprises

top of page       top of page