Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Democrat Photo by Rob Potter

THESE LIBERTY ATHLETES received Senior Trophy awards at Tuesday night’s Block “L” Athletic Banquet. Sitting from left to right are Kim Ramos, Lamorne Chang, Angela Giacalone, Jamie Lake and Jessica Franke. Standing from left to right are Casey Pazzalia, Jacob Schwartz, Kevin McGuire, Mac Isseks and Matt Dexter.

Indians Laud
Their Own

By Rob Potter
LIBERTY — June 9, 2006 – The achievements recorded by dozens of Liberty Central School athletes during the 2006-2007 academic year were celebrated by coaches, school officials, family members and friends on Tuesday night at the annual LCS Block “L” Athletic Banquet.
Following a buffet dinner in the high school cafeteria, the awards ceremony began in the auditorium.
Superintendent Lawrence Clarke thanked the student-athletes for their accomplishments.
“I’m pleased to be here to help congratulate all of you for your achievements,” he said.
Clarke noted that the “accomplishments on the field of play can help you in many other ways.” He listed communication and teamwork as just two of the skills that can be learned and improved while playing sports and then utilized in a positive manner long after an athlete graduates from high school.
Athletic Director Tim Bult introduced seniors Marshall “Mac” Isseks and Kim Ramos, who were recently named Orange County Interscholastic Athletic Association (OCIAA) Scholar Athletes for the 2005-2006 school year. Isseks, who was a member of the Indians’ soccer, basketball and tennis teams, compiled a 99.28 gpa in his four years at LHS. Ramos, who was a member of the Lady Indians’ soccer, alpine skiing and softball teams, recorded a 97.38 gpa during the past four years.
“I enjoyed playing sports here at Liberty,” Isseks said. “Through athletics, I had many great experiences.
“I can’t imagine going to high school and not playing sports,” Ramos commented. “By participating in athletics, I was able to experience exciting victories and disappointing defeats.”
In addition to the traditional awards listed on the program, some special presentations were made during the evening.
Bult presented a special award to Andy Kavleski, who is retiring after 30 years as a coach and teacher at LCS. Bult handed a plaque to Kavleski “on behalf of the thousands of Liberty student-athletes you have helped over the years.”
Nine members of the boys’ tennis team were recognized for recently being named a New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) Scholar Athlete Team. Coach Mark Hess presented special certificates to the nine players, who had a cumulative gpa of 94.08.
The boys’ tennis team was the fifth Liberty squad to receive the NYSPHSAA Scholar-Athlete Team honor during the 2005-2006 school year. The other teams were boys’ soccer, girls’ soccer, girls’ tennis and boys’ alpine skiing.
Twice during the ceremony Bult was recognized by the coaches who were seated on stage with him and the athletes, parents and family members in the audience. Coaches Tom LaGattuta and John Lennon, representing the girls’ basketball and wrestling teams, respectively, both paused during the presentations for their teams to ask everyone in the auditorium to applaud and thank Bult for his 10 years of service as LCS Athletic Director. Next year, Bult, who taught two physical education classes in addition to performing his AD duties each academic year during the past decade, will become a full-time high school physical education instructor in the district.
At the beginning of the ceremony, Bult presented the 2006 Fan-of-the-Year Award to Cliff Hamlin and Lawrence “Poppy” Smith.
Bult also presented Assistant Athletic Director Awards to four students who helped out in his office this school year. Those students were: Kane Davis, Kevin McGuire, Rebecca Ramirez and Vernon Wilson.
The evening’s other award winners were as follows:
Plaque Awards
Boys’ Soccer (presented by Coach Hazel Yaun): Most Valuable – Justin Garritt; Co-Most Improved – Matt Baxter and Geraldo Romero
Girls’ Soccer (presented by Coach Ashlea Prouty): Best Offense – Rebecca Scherer; Co-Best Defense – Michelle Fancher and Kim Ramos
Football (presented by Coach Jim O’Connor): Best Offense – Peter Panagakos; Best Defense – Rob Silva
Golf (presented by Coach Ryan Bowers): Most Improved – Anthony Martinez; Most Valuable – Josh Goldstein
Boys’ Track (presented by Coach Hazel Yaun): Most Valuable – Jacob Schwartz; Most Improved – Matt Arielly
Girls’ Track (presented by Coach Andy Kavleski): Co-Most Valuable – Kim McKay and Jasmine Walizadeh
Boys’ Tennis (presented by Coach Mark Hess): Most Improved – Zack Emery; Most Valuable – Jeffrey Simpson
Girls’ Tennis (presented by Coach Stephen Colman): Most Improved – Jill Lieberman; Co-Most Valuable – Alexandra Vamanu and Trina Williams
Football Cheerleading (presented by Audra Santillo): Most Improved – Stephanie Correa; Most Valuable – Amanda Edwards
Basketball Cheerleading (presented by Jennifer Miller): Most Valuable – Monique Mathis; Most Improved – Mackenze Austin
Boys’ Basketball (presented by Coach Dave Slater): Best Offensive – Lakarri Byrd; Most Improved – Justin Mills
Girls’ Basketball (presented by Coach Tom LaGattuta): Best Offense – Jessica Diaz; Best Defense – Jennifer Caywood; Coach’s Award – Aryana Walizadeh
Boys’ Alpine Skiing (presented by Coach Cindy Ellmauer): Co-Most Valuable – Justin Garritt and Kevin McGuire
Girls’ Alpine Skiing (presented by Coach Cindy Ellmauer): Most Improved – Rebecca Ramirez; Most Valuable – Kim Ramos
Boys’ Indoor Track (presented by Coach Hazel Yaun): Co-Most Valuable – Matt Arielly and Jacob Schwartz; Most Improved – Jeff Simpson
Girls’ Indoor Track (presented by Coach Debbie Simpson): Co-Most Valuable – Kim McKay and Rebecca Scherer; Most Improved – Elana Ehrenberg
Wrestling (presented by Coach John Lennon): Most Improved – Ralph Irwin; Most Valuable – Vernon Wilson
Baseball (presented by Coach John Wilhelm): Most Improved – Justin Green; Best Defense – Justin Garritt
Softball (presented by Coach Maggie Novello): Most Improved – Alanna Bierstine
Boys’ Cross Country (presented by Coach Andy Kavleski): Most Improved – Trevor Tate; Most Valuable – Jacob Schwartz
Girls’ Cross Country (presented by Coach Andy Kavleski): Most Improved – Kristen Sarno; Most Valuable – Kim McKay
Kavleski Award for Boys’ Track and Field Scholar-Athlete – Jeff Simpson
Kavleski Award for Girls’ Track and Field Scholar-Athlete – Elana Ehrenberg
Trophy Awards
O’Hearn Award for Football Most Improved – Matt Dexter
Goodstein Award for Wrestling Perseverance – Justin Katz
Buchal Award for Baseball MVP – Scott Hamlin
Buchal Award for Softball MVP – Michelle Fancher
Ivan Richards Award for Boys’ Basketball MVP – Lakarri Byrd
Ivan Richards Award for Girls’ Basketball MVP – Angela Giacalone
Ross Award for Football Scholar Athlete – Connor Noetzel
Charlie Barbuti Sportsmanship Award for Baseball – Casey Pazzalia
Charlie Barbuti Sportsmanship Award for Softball – Jessica Franke
Fred Planica Memorial Baseball Scholarship – Mike Maltese
Senior Trophy Awards
Rattner Award for Basketball Scholar-Athlete: Boy – Mac Isseks; Girl – Lamorne Chang
Bo Gill Award for Perseverance: Boy – Anthony Martinez; Girl – Kim Ramos
Elizabeth “Betty” Totten Sportsmanship Award: Boy – Kevin McGuire; Girl – Jamie Lake
Tom Kelly Award for Outstanding Senior: Boy – Jacob Schwartz; Girl – Kim Ramos.

top of page  |  home  |  archives