Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Democrat Photo by Lori Brown

THE THREE LIBERTY Central School varsity sports teams that were recognized as New York State Public High School Scholar-Athlete teams for last autumn were honored on Monday night at the school. Pictured above is the boys’ soccer team. In the front row, from left to right, are Kyle Farrand, Matt Baxter, Kurt Ramos and Justin Garrett. In the back row, from left to right, are Coach Hazel Yaun, Jacob Kirsch, Sean Dinnerstein, Scott Hamlin, Jeff Simpson, Matt Arielly, and Assistant Coach Debra Simpson. Missing from photo are team members Ryan Burns, Peter Ehrenberg, Mac Isseks, Matt Lockwood, Justin Sutherland, Peter Talerico, Justin Green, Joel Serapio and Gerardo Romero.

Liberty Honors Its Own

By Lori Brown
LIBERTY — February 17, 2006 – Liberty Central School Athletic Director Tim Bult set up an awards ceremony Monday night in the LCS cafeteria just prior to the regular board of education meeting.
The school district and the New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) were honoring four individual students as well as the members of three varsity sports teams from the fall of 2005.
Bult started off by saying how proud he was of all the students.
The four individual students that were recognized were Matt Arielly, Mac Isseks, Rebecca Ramirez and Amarynth Sichel.
The four worked as student interns for The River Reporter. Starting last September, each student wrote a story and took pictures about Liberty varsity games. Their e-mailed reports and photos were then edited and printed in the newspaper. Each student wrote about 15 stories during the 2005 fall sports season.
Ramirez wrote her articles on LCS football games, while Arielly and Isseks reported stories on the boys’ soccer games and Sichel reported on girls’ soccer games. Each student had received a certificate as well as a good introduction to journalism.
For a team to earn the 2005 NYSPHSAA Scholar-Team Award, each player must earn a 90 or above average in school. Three out of the five LCS varsity fall sports teams were awarded this honor: boys’ soccer team, girls’ soccer team and girls’ tennis team.
The respective team coaches noted that they were very proud of the effort of all the students on the court or field as well as in the classroom. Each player on the team was awarded a T-shirt, pin, and a certificate.
Also, Town of Liberty Supervisor Frank DeMayo, on behalf of the entire town board, presented a plaque to each team in honor of all the hard work in the classroom and on the soccer field and tennis court.
The coach of the girls’ soccer team is Ashlea Prouty and the assistant coach is Carpio Ramos. The team’s cumulative grade point average was 90.2. The team roster included: Rebecca Scherer, Deanna Burgio, Kelley Lockwood, Brittany Argent, Caitlin Baker, Michelle Fancher, Miranda Hardy, Brittany Melchick, Maggie Sauchuk, Meghin Shortall, Amarynth Sichel, Georgia Siegel, Aryana Walizadeh, Jamie Lake and Kim Ramos.
The head coach of the boys’ soccer team is Hazel Yaun and the assistant coach is Debra Simpson. The team’s cumulative grade point average was 92.338. The members of the team were: Ryan Burns, Peter Ehrenberg, Mac Isseks, Kyle Farrand, Jacob Kirsch, Matt Lockwood, Justin Sutherland, Pete Talerico, Matt Baxter, Sean Dinnerstein, Justin Garrett, Justin Green, Scott Hamlin, Joel Serapio, Jeff Simpson, Matt Arielly, Kurt Ramos and Gerardo Romero.
The coach for the girls’ tennis team is Steven Colman. The squad’s cumulative grade point average was 91.569. The roster included: Alexandra Vamanu, Jennifer Mase, Trina Williams, Prinali Trivedi, Jieun Park, Christine Divita, Melissa Cohen, Danielle Heisler, Jessica Diaz, Kate Sarno, Jill Lieberman, Alyssa Ramos, Ellyn Wingert, Elana Ehrenberg, Maria Laguio, Krysler Fernandez, Janine Strycko and Katelyn Amaral.

top of page  |  home  |  archives