Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Museum Names
Top Fishermen

Edited by Rob Potter
LIVINGSTON MANOR — September 13, 2005 – The Catskill Fly Fishing Center and Museum recently announced the Class of 2005 inductees into The Fly Fishing Hall of Fame.
After due deliberation and reviewing numerous nominations from throughout the fly fishing community, this year’s nominating committee selected the following individuals for induction into The Fly Fishing Hall of Fame:
• Mary Dette Clark – A supreme craftswoman and a legend in the tradition of Catskill fly tying who has spent her entire life contributing to and enriching the fly fishing culture of the Catskills.
• Hoagy Carmichael Jr. – A rod maker whose skill in shaping Tonkin cane has produced works of art and whose literary work describing Garrison’s techniques has provided current rod makers with the ability to practice bamboo craftsmanship in the footsteps of the masters.
• Everett Garrison – One of the finest cane rod makers of all time, Garrison’s work is copied for its appearance, action and perfect execution.
• Hiram Leonard – He is the craftsman who perfected the modern six-strip construction of bamboo fly rods, which transformed fly fishing and fly casting.
• James Payne – A rod maker of incredible skill who improved upon Hiram Leonard’s composition with the use of Tonkin cane, creating exceptional rods of dry fly rod design.
• Carrie Stevens – A fly tyer whose innovations in fly design, beginning with her Gray Ghost, revolutionized streamer flies.
The 2005 inductees join the previous recipients of this award: Ray Bergman, Stanley Bogdan, Leon Chandler, William A. Chandler, Herman Christian, Reuben Cross, Elsie Darbee, Harry Darbee, Walt Dette, Winnie Dette, Art Flick, Charles Fox, Theodore Gordon, George W. Harvey, Edward R. Hewitt, Bob Jacklin, Poul Jorgensen, William H. “Catskill Bill” Kelly, Bernard “Lefty” Kreh, George M.L. LaBranche, Gary LaFontaine, James Leisenring, Eric Leiser, Nick Lyons, Vincent Marinaro, Albert J. McClane, John McDonald, Alfred W. “Sparse Grey Hackle” Miller, Thaddeus Norris, Ernest G. Schwiebert, Helen Shaw, Frank B. Smoot, Roy Steenrod, Joan Stoliar, Lee Wulff, Joan Salvato Wulff and Don Zahner.
The Fly Fishing Hall of Fame recognizes men and women who have contributed significantly to the sport. The criteria used by the nominating committee in selecting inductees to the Hall of Fame are as follows:
• Inductees must have made substantial contributions to the sport of fly fishing on a regional, national or international basis in one of more of the following areas:
• Furthering the understanding or care of the aquatic habitat;
• Innovations of fly fishing techniques, tackle, flies, or other elements of the sport;
• Furthering appreciation for or knowledge of the practice of the sport.
• Inductees may be anglers, guides, scientists, conservationists, fishing industry leaders or in other appropriate roles.
• Inductees are not restricted in any way as to country of origin, race, creed or gender. Inductees may be living or dead.
The 2005 Inductees to The Fly Fishing Hall of Fame will be honored with a 4 p.m. reception on Saturday, October 15 at the Catskill Fly Fishing Center and Museum.
The reception will be followed by a special evening at the Rockland House in Roscoe, where attendees will have the opportunity to mingle with the legends of the sport of fly fishing. The evening event will begin with a cash bar cocktail reception at 6 p.m. and dinner will be served at 7 p.m. The cost of event is $50 a person and all proceeds benefit the museum.
For more information and to make reservations, please call the museum at 439-4810 or send an e-mail to

top of page  |  home  |  archives