Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Leaders All

Democrat Photo by Eli Ruiz

MEMBERS OF THE Fallsburg Comets varsity track team gathered on the auditorium stage to accept their awards at last Tuesday evening’s Spring Sports Awards Assembly.

Athletes Garner Awards

By Eli Ruiz
FALLSBURG — June 14, 2005 – The Fallsburg School District held its annual Spring Sports Awards Assembly on Tuesday, June 7.
Athletic Director Brett Cancredi was emcee for the event and he commended all of the Comet and Lady Comet athletes on their “hard work and determination” on both the athletic field as well as in the classroom.
First on the slate was the varsity softball team, which was coached by Chris Barnes. Most Improved Player honors went to Dana Maythenyi, with the Sportsmanship Award going to Kerri Sheridan. The squad’s Most Valuable Player was Rachel Feller.
Modified softball coaches Lisa Wood and Amanda Biccum honored Bryanna Kolja as the team’s Most Improved Player.
Up next was the varsity baseball team, coached by Jeremy Levner.
The Most Improved Player award was presented to outfielder Dave Luzcyski. The Sportsmanship Award was given to Jon Nardi.
Junior Varsity and modified baseball were next on the evening’s program. For the JV team, which was coached by Mike Weiner, the Most Improved Player was Ricky Stoll, with the Sportsmanship Award going to Gavin Gandulla. The modified squad and coach Billy Albronda honored Elias Vasquez with the Most Improved Player Award and Victor Pacheco with the Sportsmanship Award.
The varsity track squad then took center stage with multiple honorees. Coach Ed Liotard and Assistant Coach Tarra Strauss presented Sportsmanship Awards to Da’Quan Davis, Christopher Gates and Jenna Hiatt. The boys’ track team MVP was Darnell Owens, who qualified for sectionals the last two years. The girls’ track team MVP was Ashriel Frasier.
Modified coach Jonah Stevens honored Zachary Jonas and Joanna Blanchard with Sportsmanship Awards.
The girls’ and boys’ varsity golf squads then received their accolades from their respective coaches, Steve Janove and Joe Levner.
For the girls, Megan Hobby took home the Rolly Allen Sportsmanship Award and Lisa Scheinman was named the Most Improved Player. Jessica Orlan took MVP honors.
Coach Levner did not give any individual awards. He said that all of the team members had made great improvements this season.
The final team presentation was for the boys’ varsity tennis team. Coach Janet Carey presented the Most Improved Player Award to Adam Pavloff and the Sportsmanship Award to Joe Sep. The team’s MVP honors went to Robert Sneckenberg.
After the team ceremonies, Cancredi then gave out some individual awards.
He presented the 2005 Athlete of the Year Awards to Darnell Owens and Abby Smassanow.
The Scholar Athlete Awards were earned by Harris Seletsky and Abby Smassanow.
Finally, Cancredi presented the school’s Career Athlete Awards to Darnell Owens and Rachel Feller for their years of athletic achievements.

top of page  |  home  |  archives