Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Twin Wins

Democrat Photo by Ed Townsend

THIS SEASON'S TOP women golfers include Pat Hill, left, and Tracy Knickerbocker, center, who were the first place champions in the Tuesday Ladies League. Sally Shea was the Women's A Flight club champion. Pat Hill is also the Women's B flight club champion.

More Than Two
Honored for Skills

By Ed Townsend
ROSCOE — September 21, 2004 – The Roscoe Twin Village Golf Club annual awards dinner took place September 11 and recognized 2004 club and league champions.
Also honored was Jim Bowers Sr. for his years of dedication as a member of the club's board of directors.
Golfers and guests took a moment of silence to share with our nation a day of remembrance of the tragic occasion of September 11. The passing of Janet Alley, Margo Hendrickson and Ed Barker was also noted in the dinner program.
Prior to the championship awards, guests enjoyed Rockland House prime rib, baked salmon or stuffed chicken.
2004 club champions honored included the following:
• Men’s A Flight: Lonnie Ackerley Sr. – first with a 64, Steve Bowers – second with a 66 and Lonnie Ackerley Jr. – third with a 66.
• Men’s B Flight: Tom Trask – first with a 75, Frank McGreevy – second with an 80 and Troy Kirchner – third with an 80.
• Men’s C Flight: Bill Knipscher – first with a 76, Erf Porter – second with a 77 and Charlie Coyle – third with an 82.
• Women’s A Flight: Sally Shay – first with an 83, Gwen Baldo – second with an 83 and Jean Knickerbocker – third with an 83.
• Women’s B Flight: Pat Hill – first with a 90, Sue Soules – second with a 91 and Dolores Zweck – third with a 99.
• Women’s C Flight: Sue Jaeckel – first with a 101, Margaret Bauer – second with a 107 and Ruth Ulshafer – third with a 111.
The club championships are now an 18-hole one-day event, and discussion took place at the dinner to extent these to two days 36 holes.
Champions of the Tuesday Night Ladies league were Pat Hill and Tracy Knickerbocker.
Champions of the 18-team Monday Night Men’s League are Ken Knudsen and George Powell – first with 225 points, Bill Knipscher and Rick Gray – second with 215.50 points and Steve Bowers and Lonnie Ackerley – third with 212 points.
The club gave special thanks to dinner committee members Mary Austin, Dan Baldo and Bill Knipscher.

top of page  |  home  |  archives