Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Democrat Photo by Rob Potter

THE COACHES AND participants in last week’s Sullivan Generals Boys’ Basketball Camp gather for a photo after Friday afternoon’s award ceremony.

Boys Enhance Hoops Skills
At Sullivan Generals Camp

By Rob Potter
LOCH SHELDRAKE — July 27, 2004 – A total of 83 boys from ages 7 to 17 spent a great deal of time at Sullivan County Community College (SCCC) last week.
Those youngsters improved their basketball skills by attending the 2004 Sullivan Generals Boys’ Basketball Camp at the Paul Gerry Fieldhouse on the SCCC campus. From 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. last Monday through Friday, the camp attendees completed various dribbling, passing and shooting drills. They also learned about defense and participated in one-on-one, two-on-two, three-on-three and five-on-five games.
At the end of Friday’s camp session, Camp Director Chris DePew – who is also the SCCC Athletic Director and Men’s Basketball Coach – and his staff presented participation certificates, awards and trophies to the campers. Assisting DePew at the camp were SCCC Athletic Department staff members Bryan Bury and Zachariah Mathew, Sullivan West Boys’ Basketball Coach Rick Ellison, former SW basketball player Mike Ahnstrom, current SW player Joe Winski and current Monticello High School player T.J. Walker.
DePew also praised the work done by Athletic Department Secretary Georgia Lyons to keep the camp running smoothly.
“I just want to thank all of the coaches, participants and parents for making this such a great week,” DePew said. “This was the largest camp we’ve had since I’ve been here. I’m really happy with how everything turned out. We had great coaches, great kids and great parents. I hope to see a lot of these kids back here next summer.”
During the awards ceremony, several campers were recognized for their skills in shooting competitions like “hot shot” and “knockout” as well as for one-on-one, two-on-two, three-on-three and five-on-five games.
In addition, many youngsters were honored in their respective age group (7-9, 10-12 and 13-17) with Coach’s Award, Most Improved Player (MIP) Award or Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award and/or as members of the all-star team.
Those award winners were as follows:
7-9 Age Group – Coach’s Award: Brad Hemmer, MIP: Patrick Ramos, MVP: Rakkir Watson. All-Star Team: Aric Boyes, Steven DeMestrio, Jack Drapkin, Sawyer Erlwein, Brad Hemmer, Ryan Henry, Quinn Jackson, Benjamin Kapito, Patrick Ramos and Rakkir Watson.
10-12 Age Group – Coach’s Award: Marcus Daniels-Penn, MIP: Jesse Kapito, MVP: Jaquan Harris. All-Star Team: Marcus Daniels-Penn, Max Efrein, Chris Ellison, Jaquan Harris, Calvin Henry, Jesse Kapito, Jesse Levine, Evan Moyes, Nicholas Scheibe and Matthew Sze.
13-17 Age Group – Coach’s Award: Ross Bernhardt, MIP: Cory Ramos, MVP: John Scully. All-Star Team: Ryan Ansbro, Colin Conway-Whittaker, Marcus Hunter, Kyle John-Schonfeld, Sean McNamara, Bill Miller, Oren Nusblat, Garrett Owen, Colin Seidl and Bryan Schmidt.
The participants in the 2004 boys’ basketball camp were: Ryan Ansbro, Scott Ansbro, Ross Bernhardt, James Bertholf, Andrew Bilotti, Aric Boyes, Hauk Boyes, Kyle Butler, Christopher Carrington, Charles Ciccione, Derrick Clarke, Colin Conway-Whitaker, Myles Coombe, Dustin Coombe, Steven DeMestrio, Derek DiBartolo, Jack Drapkin, Darius Dromazos, Jonathan Edwards, Max Efrein, Chris Ellison, Sawyer Erlwein, Robert Fore, Kyle Flynn, Tyler Foxwell, E.J. Franskevicz, Robert Gonzalez, Shakree Gibson, Anthony Grimm, Elvin Harris, Jaquan Harris, Brad Hemmer, Calvin Henry, Ryan Henry, Andrew Hersh, Matthew Hersh, Marcus Hunter, Quinn Jackson, Kyle John-Schonfeld, Benjamin Kapito, Jesse Kapito, Joseph Klein, Jesse Levine, Jonathan Logothety, Tyler Lopez, John Masten, Erik Mayberg, Elijah Meadow, Sean McNamara, Bill Miller, Kyle Miller, Evan Moyes, Oren Nusblat, Gaston Owen, Garrett Owen, Gavin Owen, Marcus Daniels-Penn, Elijah Peters, Kenny Presti, Cory Ramos, Patrick Ramos, Brendan Sanok, Nicholas Scheibe, Bryan Schmidt, John Scully, Colin Seidl, Max Siegel, Lucas Smith, Matthew Sze, Joseph Todora and Rakkir Watson.

top of page  |  home  |  archives