Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Democrat Photo by Rob Potter

THE TOP WINNERS at the annual Liberty Central School Block L Athletic Banquet are pictured above. Sitting from left to right are Erin Simpson, Kate DeMayo, Alyssa Thalmann, Lauren Michaud and Andrea Kavleski. Standing from left to right are Michael Barry, Andrew Riegler, Eric Parkhurst and Woody Wilson.

Liberty Central School Honors Top Athletes of

By Rob Potter
LIBERTY — June 18, 2004 – As proud parents, siblings, teachers, friends, administrators and board of education members looked on Tuesday night, dozens of Liberty Central School (LCS) athletes were honored.
Student-athletes who participated in sports from alpine skiing to baseball to track and field were lauded for their efforts at the annual LCS Block L Athletic Awards Banquet.
After enjoying a buffet dinner in the high school cafeteria, everyone gathered in the nearby auditorium for the awards ceremony.
“I offer my congratulations to all of you who are about to be recognized for your athletic accomplishments,” Superintendent Lawrence Clarke said.
Clarke also recognized the parents and coaches for all of their work in helping the LCS athletes to excel on the courts and fields during this academic year. He also noted that studies have shown that high school students who are involved in extracurricular activities such as athletics “perform better academically than their less involved peers.”
Athletic Director Tim Bult then handed out some special awards. The 2004 Fan of the Year Award was presented to Maggie Baxter. Three LCS students were honored with Assistant Athletic Director Awards for all of the assistance they provided Bult during the 2003-2004 school year. They were senior Erin Smith, junior Derek Austin and sophomore Kevin McGuire.
Bult also presented a bouquet of flowers to Mardette Wilcox, a 1999 LCS graduate. For the past few weeks, she worked as a substitute at the school and helped Bult organize the athletic banquet.
Prior to introducing the award winners for their teams, the coaches praised the athletes for the way they gave it their best effort during competition and displayed good sportsmanship whether they won or lost the game or match.
“When we were at Belleayre Mountain on one of the coldest days of the winter, I didn’t hear any complaints,” Alpine Skiing Coach Cindy Ellmauer said. “It was 40 below zero, but these kids were ready to ski. They are a great group of kids.”
Like Ellmauer, Boys’ Track Coach Hazel Yaun spoke about her team’s great attitude. She also singled out one athlete in particular.
“This young man always had a positive attitude and was willing to work hard,” Yaun said. “He competed in distance events like the mile, 2-mile and 4-by-800 [meters]. He always said ‘Coach, anything you need, I’ll be here.’”
Yaun then asked that young man, Michael Barry, to come to the stage and accept the Boys’ Track Most Improved Award. As Barry made his way to the stage, the audience members rose from their seats to give him a well-deserved standing ovation.
The complete list of award winners is as follows:
Plaque Awards
Girls’ Soccer: Best Offense – Chelsey Manley; Best Defense – Katie DeMayo.
Boys’ Soccer: Best Offense – Ramon Romero; Best Defense – Tyler Hartman; Most Improved – Kyle Ferrand.
Golf: Most Improved – Peter Ehrenberg; Most Valuable – Kelly Hamlin.
Boys’ Track: Most Valuable (Track) – Chris Goldsmith; Most Valuable (Field) – Chris Goldsmith; Most Improved – Michael Barry.
Girls’ Track: Most Improved – Jenn Cronk; Co-Most Valuable – Andrea Kavleski; Co-Most Valuable – Erin Simpson.
Girls’ Tennis: Most Improved – Prenali Trivedi; Most Valuable – Bertha Lee.
Boys’ Tennis: Most Improved – Justin Sutherland; Most Valuable – Jay Samant.
Football Cheerleading: Most Improved – Marisa Bernthal; Most Valuable – Michelle Koval.
Basketball Cheerleading: Most Improved – Heather Williams; Most Valuable – Joana Zayas.
Boys’ Basketball: Best Defensive – Andrew Riegler; Most Improved – Peter Panagakos.
Girls’ Basketball: Best Offense – Lisa DeStefano; Best Defense – Keely Hamlin.
Boys’ Alpine Skiing: Co-Most Valuable – Justin Garritt; Co-Most Valuable – Kevin McGuire.
Girls’ Alpine Skiing: Most Improved – Kerri Benzenberg; Most Valuable – Bertha Lee.
Boys’ Indoor Track: Co-Most Valuable – Jacob Schwartz; Co-Most Valuable – Eric Parkhurst; Co-Most Improved – John Snyder; Co-Most Improved – Peter Talerico.
Girls’ Indoor Track: Co-Most Valuable – Andrea Kavleski; Co-Most Valuable – Erin Simpson; Most Improved – Julie Goodman.
Wrestling: Most Improved – Kyle Raven; Most Valuable – Lauren Michaud.
Baseball: Most Improved – Kyle Fleming; Best Defensive – Corey Pazzalia.
Softball: Most Improved – Kelly Lorino; Most Valuable – Brittany Strysko.
Boys’ Cross Country: Most Improved – Michael Barry; Most Valuable – Jacob Schwartz.
Girls’ Cross Country: Most Improved – Sara Belfiore; Most Valuable – Kim McKay.
Kavleski Award For Track and Field Scholar Athlete: Boy – Justin Tate; Girl – Erin Simpson.

Trophy Awards
Goodstein Award for Wrestling Perseverance: Lauren Michaud.
Buchal Award for MVP Baseball and MVP Softball: Mike Kushetsky and Alyssa Thalmann.
Ivan Richards Award for Basketball Boys’ MVP and Girls’ MVP: Jason Garritt and Kate DeMayo.
Girls’ Soccer Scholar Athlete: Erin Simpson.
Charlie Barbuti Sportsmanship Award: Baseball – Derek Blume; Softball – Kelly Lorino.
Fred Planica Memorial Baseball Scholarship: Shane Noetzel.

Senior Trophy Awards
Rattner Award: Boys’ Basketball Scholar Athlete – Andrew Riegler; Girls’ Basketball Scholar Athlete – Kate DeMayo.
Bo Gill Award For Perseverence: Boy – Michael Barry; Girl – Lauren Michaud.
Elizabeth “Betty” Totten Sportsmanship Award: Boy – Woody Wilson; Girl – Andrea Kavleski.
Tom Kelly Award For Outstanding Senior: Boy – Eric Parkhurst; Girl – Erin Simpson.

top of page  |  home  |  archives