Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Sullivan West
Honors Its Own

By Mercedes Manzolillo
JEFFERSONVILLE — June 20, 2003 – The 2002-2003 school year Spring Athletic Awards were held on June 13 for Sullivan West at the Jeffersonville Campus.
The ceremony not only honored spring teams, but also Senior Athletes, Senior Plaques, Milt Gaebel Awards, Coaches Awards, Most Valuable Player Awards, and the Billy Moran Scholarship Awards.
The varsity girls’ track coach, George Shackelton, presented the awards to his team. Eleanor Bryan received an award for being the Most Improved runner on the varsity girls’ track team. April Ackerman snagged the M.V.P. Award for the same sport. Ackerman also participated in the New York State Championship Meet.
Ron Bauer, the varsity boys’ track coach, presented Adam Nebzydoski with a Most Improved Track award, and Jeremy Morgan with the M.V.P. Award.
Morgan participated in the New York State Championship Meet. The Bulldogs were the O.C.I.A.A. Divisional Champs in track and field this year.
This year also marked a major development for Sullivan West golf. This was the first year girls played on their own team.
Jessica Armstrong received the Most Improved Female Golfer Award from Coach, Joe Walsh. Nellie Norden received the Lowest Scoring Female Golfer or M.V.P. Award. Norden also won the first-ever O.C.I.A.A. Girls’ Individual Championship.
For varsity boys’ golf, Sean Semenetz received the Golf M.V.P. Award. This year he participated in the New York State Championship in Cornell. Margaret Norden, the only girl on the golf team, won the Senior Golf M.V.P. Award.
Co-Head Coach Mike Ellmauer and Co-Head Coach John Meyer, presented the varsity softball awards. Erin Rosenberger was named Most Valuable Player, and Lesley Bright snagged the Coaches Choice Award. The softball team qualified for sectional play this year.
Head Coach Kurt Scheibe, and Assistant Coach Phil Fanning, gave out varsity baseball awards to Billy Nordenhold, who was the most improved player, and Everett Saul was the M.V.P. The team finished their season O.C.I.A.A. Divisional Champs.
In 1994, the Jeffersonville-Youngsville Central School Athletic Department created a “club” that was designed to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of various coaches on staff. As stated in 1994, “Members inducted into this club will be those coaches that have coached their individual sport to 100 or more wins.” This year the Sullivan West Central School presented the honors of the new Sullivan West Coaches Century Club to Ron Bauer and Anthony Durkin.
Margaret Norden won the Sullivan West Female Coaches Award, and Everett Saul won the Sullivan West Male Coaches Award.
Katrina Meyer, who played varsity softball, won the 2002-2003 Milt Gaebel Award, along with Jacob Sauer-Jones who was on the varsity baseball team.
Kelly Mullally won the M.V.P. Senior Athlete 2002-2003 award. She was on the soccer, indoor track, basketball, basketball cheerleading, and outdoor track teams. Brent Rose also won the Male Select Senior Athlete 2002-2003 Award. Rose was on the cross-country, basketball, and outdoor track teams.
The Billy Moran Scholarship Award of $2,000, was presented to Mullally for her outstanding athletic achievements, community involvement and citizenship, and her high G.P.A.

top of page  |  home  |  archives