Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  NEWS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Four Villages Hold
Elections March 18

By Matt Youngfrau
SULLIVAN COUNTY —February 28, 2003– The first elections of 2003 will be held on March 18. On that day, four out of the six villages in the county will open their polling places: Liberty, Wurtsboro, Bloomingburg, and Jeffersonville.
There are no elections in Monticello this year, and Woodridge’s election is in June.
In Liberty, there are three races: for Mayor, two Trustee seats and Justice.
Current Mayor Ed Pankonin is not seeking re-election for the two-year term.
Two current Village Trustees are vying for Mayor: Republican and Liberty First candidate Stephen Lavelle opposes Democrat William “Rube” Smith.
Going for the two Trustee seats (two-year terms each) are Republican and Liberty First candidates Thomas Sprague (incumbent) and Sal Crescitelli and Democrats Joan Stoddard and Allan Berube.
Running unopposed for Justice (a four-year term) is Democrat Harold Bauman.
Over in Wurtsboro, two seats will be contested: for Mayor and Trustee, both two-year terms.
Running for Mayor is Republican and Democrat Eugene Young. Opposing Young is current Mayor and Wurtsboro First candidate Bob Whitehead.
Running unopposed for Trustee is Republican and Democrat John Klein.
The only race in Bloomingburg is for a two-year Trustee seat. Running unopposed is Clifford Teich.
In Jeffersonville, running unopposed for a two-year term as Mayor is Edward J. Justus, the incumbent.
Two people are running unopposed for two two-year trustee seats. Running is incumbent Timothy Mullally and Peter Ciaccio.
Running unopposed for a one-year Trustee seat is Peggy Johansen.
Election Day is Tuesday, March 18. Polls will be open all day in all villages. Call your local village clerk for more information.

top of page  |  home  |  archives