Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
At the Top . . .

Democrat Photo by Rob Potter

THE LIBERTY SENIOR Trophy winners are pictured above. Sitting from left to right are Michelle Olson, Garry Bertholf, Sarah Crescitelli and Christy Immel. Standing from left to right are Jaycob Burns, Nicole Daurio and Shaheem Parks.

. . . Of Their Game

By Rob Potter
LIBERTY — June 14, 2002 – Dozens of Liberty Central School student-athletes were honored for their efforts on the athletic fields and courts during the 2001-2002 school year Tuesday night at the annual Block L Athletic Awards Banquet.
In his opening remarks, Superintendent Dr. Brian Howard reminded the parents, friends and community members about the caliber of the student-athletes at Liberty. He spoke of a former student who is serving in the United States Navy and was recently chosen to be a squadron leader.
Howard noted that the student was singled out for the leadership position in part due to a letter of recommendation that was written by a school staff member. The letter recalled a basketball game several years ago and how that former student consoled and supported a teammate after the teammate missed the potentially game-winning free throws.
“That’s what being a leader is about,” Howard said. “And that is an example of the fine athletes we have here in Liberty.”
In handing out team awards, many of the coaches noted that although their team’s won-loss record may not have been stellar, the athletes were determined to give it their all.
“We had a tough season,” said varsity football coach Michael Castelli. “But the guys showed a lot of charcter and determination. They worked hard and never quit.”
Before the team award winners were announced, Liberty Athletic Director Tim Bult presented Fan of the Year Awards to Evelyn Buck and Valerie Waite. He also gave Assistant Athletic Director Awards to Lisa DeStefano and Kristy Falkenmeyer for their assistance in the athletic office.
Team awards were presented in each varsity sport. They are as follows:
• Football: Best Offense – Renauld Buck; Best Defense – Chris Kusznir.
• Girls’ Soccer: Best Offense – Chelsea LaGattuta; Best Defense – Michelle Olson.
• Boys’ Soccer: Best Offense – Garry Bertholf; Best Defense – Jay Champlin.
• Golf: Most Improved – Brandan Manley; Most Valuable – Ian Orr.
• Boys’ Track: Best Track – Matt Manzi; Best Field – Renauld Buck.
• Girls’ Track: Most Improved – Andrea Kavleski; Most Valuable – Megan Baxter.
• Girls’ Tennis: Most Improved – Andrea Kavleski; Most Valuable – Andrea TerBush.
• Boys’ Tennis: Most Improved – Matt Black; Most Valuable – Jay Samant.
• Football Cheerleading: Most Improved – Jena Young; Most Valuable – Sharlay Fields.
• Basketball Cheerleading: Co-Most Valuable – Vicki Myrick; Co-Most Valuable – Lorelei Reynolds.
• Boys’ Basketball: Best Offensive – Nick Christian; Best Defensive – Michael Salvia.
• Girls’ Basketball: Best Offensive – Christine Waryha; Best Defensive – Chelsea LaGattuta.
• Boys’ Alpine Skiing: Most Valuable – Michael Swope; Most Improved – Michael Chanov.
• Girls’ Alpine Skiing: Most Improved – Michelle Olson; Most Valuable – Bertha Lee.
• Boys’ Indoor Track: Most Valuable – Matt Manzi; Most Improved – Eric Parkhurst.
• Girls’ Indoor Track: Most Valuable – Megan Baxter; Most Improved – Erin Simpson.
• Wrestling: Most Improved – Anthony Couitt; Most Valuable – Dan Ratner.
• Baseball: Most Improved – Zack Nackley; Best Offense – Joe Colacurcio; Coach’s Award – Ashton Richards.
• Softball: Most Improved – Andrea TerBush; Best Offense – Katie Yaun.
• Cross-Country: Most Improved – Mike Wiley; Most Valuable – Matt Manzi.

Trophy Awards
• O’Hearn Award (For Football Most Improved): Tanner Scott.
• Goodstein Award (For Wrestling Perserverance): Ryan Ringi.
• Buchal Award (For Baseball MVP and Softball MVP): Randy Caruso, Michelle Olson.
• Ivan Richards Award (For Basketball MVP): Nick Christian, Andrea TerBush.
• Ross Award (Football Scholar Athlete): Michael Chanov.
• Girls’ Soccer Scholar Athlete: Michelle Olson.
• Kavleski Award (Track Scholar Athlete): Brandon Sauer, Christy Immel.
• Charlie Barbuti Sportsmanship Award: Baseball – Adam Myshtari; Softball – Kristen Ahrens.

Senior Trophy Awards
• Rattner Award (For Basketball Scholar Athlete): Shaheem Parks, Nicole Daurio.
• Bo Gill Award (For Perserverance): Randy Caruso, Christy Immel.
• Elizabeth “Betty” Totten Sportsmanship Award: Jaycob Burns, Sarah Crescitelli.
• Tom Kelly Award (For Outstanding Senior Athlete): Garry Bertholf, Michelle Olson.

top of page  |  home  |  archives