Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Congratulations . . .

Democrat Photo by Rob Potter

MONTICELLO PRINCIPAL WILLIAM Stickney presents a Scholar Athlete Award to Philip Stewart at last week’s banquet.

. . . For a Job Well Done

By Rob Potter
KIAMESHA LAKE — June 15, 2001 – Scores of Monticello Central School athletes were honored for their years of hard work and dedication to the school’s sports teams at last Thursday’s annual Senior Athletic Awards Banquet.
Administrators, teachers, coaches, family members and friends joined together at Fibber’s Clubhouse at the Concord to thank those seniors who have competed for the Monticello Panther athletic squads. And it was noted more than once that a large percentage of those seniors not only excelled on the courts and fields of play but also in the school’s classrooms.
Superintendent Eileen Casey noted that because of the accomplishments of these athletes, the school continues to hold the record for the number of state Scholar Athlete Championships. (In the past decade, a total of 26 Monticello athletic teams have been selected by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association as the Scholar Athlete State Champions.)
“We are confident that the skills of goalsetting and teamwork will be a great asset to you in all your future endeavors,” Casey said. “Through committment and hard work you have demonstrated your ability to accomplish your goals in both athletic and academic endeavors.”
The evening was filled with mixed emotions for the athletes, coaches and families.
“It is both a happy and sad time,” Athletic Director Ken Garry said. “We’re happy to recognize the accomplishments of these senior athletes. And it’s sad because this marks the end of a relationship we’ve shared with these great kids over the past four years.”
High School Principal William Stickney advised the honorees to look back on their scholastic athletic careers with fondness.
“You have grown so much over the past four years,” Stickney said. “You have accomplished a great deal for yourself, your fellow players and for your teams. You have become a part of Monticello High School history.”
Near the end of the evening, Village of Monticello Mayor Gary Sommers presented the prestigious Mayor’s Trophy to Samantha Tucker. Initiated by former Mayor John Duiguid, the trophy has been presented each year since 1991 to a most outstanding senior scholar athlete.
Before handing the trophy to Tucker, Sommers spoke of her numerous academic and athletic accomplishments. Among them are being ranked seventh in the graduating class with a g.p.a. of 3.98, being a member of the girls’ soccer, alpine skiing and softball teams and qualifying for the Section IX skiing championships five times. Tucker was a member of the state champion Scholar Athlete Champion Alpine Ski team for six consecutive years.
“I had no idea that I was going to be the one to receive it,” Tucker said of capturing the coveted trophy. “It feels really good. I couldn’t have done it without the help and support of my teammates, coaches and parents.”
The other winners of the evening included:
• Coach’s Award (given to one member of each varsity team who exemplifies and upholds the highest standard of school service, athletic performance, integrity and sportsmanship. Most, but not all recipients are seniors.): Timothy Billias, Boys’ Indoor Track; Justin Bonner, Cheerleading; Benjamin Cohen, Boys’ Soccer; Kate Davidoff, Girls’ Tennis; Analey Dietrich, Softball; Kimberly Donohue, Volleyball; Ross Feller, Boys’ Cross Country Skiing, Boys’ Cross Country, Boys’ Track and Field; Jeffrey Garfield, Golf; Erin Garry, Girls’ Cross Country, Girls’ Cross Country Skiing; Jessica Konefal, Girls’ Soccer; Jorge Lee, Wrestling; Edwin Motl, Boys’ Basketball, Baseball; John Pavese, Boys’ Alpine Skiing; Kathryn Schlichtman, Girls’ Indoor Track, Girls’ Track and Field; Rebecca Sheerer, Girls’ Alpine Skiing; Diedre Smith, Girls’ Basketball and Conrado Szilard, Boys’ Tennis.
• Senior Awards (medals/plaques given to senior athletes who have earned at least one varsity letter for three years, one of which must be the current school year. Three-year participation equals a silver medal, four years a gold medal and five or six years a plaque.): Boys’ Soccer – Bryan Astras (three years) and David Valencia (three); Cross Country – Edwin Motl (four); Girls’ Tennis – Kate Davidoff (four), Jennifer Franklin (four), Rebecca Roberts (three) and Julie Stackhouse (four); Volleyball – Cynthia Jessup (four); Girls’ Soccer – Tina Billias (three), Jessica Konefal (four), Katie Manz (four), Rebecca Sheerer (three), Jen Suarez (three) and Samantha Tucker (four); Indoor Track – Jennifer Holmes (four) and Clarissa Waterton (five); Wrestling – Jorge Lee (four), Keith McLaughlin (four), Rene Perez (three) and James Trebilcock (three); Alpine Skiing – Bradley Benson (four), Vincent Dollard (four), Emily Leidner (four), Rebecca Sheerer (five) and Samantha Tucker (six); Cross-Country Skiing – Ross Feller (five), Matt Fox (three) and Katie Manz (six); Boys’ Basketball – Edwin Motl (three) and Philip Stewart (three); Girls’ Track – Jennifer Holmes (four) and Clarissa Waterton (four); Girls’ Basketball – Cynthia Jessup (three); Boys’ Track – Bradley Benson (three), Ross Feller (four) and Jorge Lee (five); Golf – Vincent Dollard (three) and Matt Fox (three); Softball – Cynthia Jessup (three).
• Senior Plaques (awarded in three categories, Doctor of Sport, Master of Sport and Bachelor of Sport)
Doctor of Sport (for athletes who have earned at least nine varsity letters, including senior year): Vincent Dollard (nine), Ross Feller (11), Cynthia Jessup (10), Jorge Lee (nine), Katie Manz (10), Edwin Motl (nine), Samantha Tucker (12) and Clarissa Waterton (nine).
Master of Sport (for athletes who have earned at least six varsity letters, including senior year): Bradley Benson (seven), Jennifer Holmes (seven), Jessica Konefal (six) and Rebecca Sheerer (eight).
Bachelor of Sport (for athletes who have earned at least three varsity letters, including senior year): Bryan Astras (three), Benjamin Cohen (four), Kate Davidoff (four), Richard Fello (three), Stephen Figura (four), Matthew Fox (three), Jennifer Franklin (three), Emily Leidner (four), Rene Perez (three), Rebecca Roberts (three), Julie Stackhouse (four), Philip Stewart (four), Jennifer Suarez (four), James Trebilcock (three) and David Velencia (three).
• Scholar Athlete Awards (presented to scholar atletes who have maintained a g.p.a. of 3.0 or better while participating in varsity athletics): Tina Billias, Benjamin Cohen, Casandra Clouser, Kate Davidoff, Vincent Dollard, Matthew Fox, Ross Feller, Jennifer Holmes, Cindy Jessup, Jessica Konefal, Elizabeth Klimasiewfski, Morgan Kulchinsky, Emily Leidner, Jorge Lee, Katie Manz, Edwin Motl, Rebecca Roberts, Julie Stackhouse, Rebecca Sheerer, Philip Stewart and Samantha Tucker.

top of page  |  home  |  archives