Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives

Democrat Photo by Jeanne Eschenberg

SCHOLAR-ATHLETES: Delaware Valley Central School Athletic Director Debbie Owen, at podium, cites some of the school’s scholar-athlete award winners.They are, from the left, James Sykes, Forest Darder, and Elisabeth Hubert. Missing from the photo is Debbie Segar.

Elisabeth Hubert Wins
Moran Scholarship

By Debbie Owen, DV Athletic Director
CALLICOON — June 27, 2000 -- Delaware Valley School honored its athletes and closed the 1999-2000 athletic year at a banquet/awards evening on June 7 in the Delaware Valley gymnasium. The evening was one mixed with tears and cheers.
Guest speaker was Al Larson, Delaware Valley interim principal and longtime coach, teacher, and administrator at several county schools. Larson spoke of the Western Sullivan League, how it began, its founders, its history and its accomplishments. Although the OCIAA (Orange County Interscholastic Athletics Association) offers many new athletic opportunities for Delaware Valley and Sullivan West athletes, the WSL will be missed.
Sullivan West Central School District Superintendent, Michael Johndrow presented Delaware Valley School guidance counselor Jane Buddenhagen with an Outstanding Service Award.
Buddenhagen said that when she began teaching physical education at Delaware Valley in 1967 there were no girls’ interscholastic sports, only playdays.
“Mrs. B,” as she is affectionately known, helped to organize Western Sullivan League’s girls’ interscholastic athletic program. Through the years she has coached girls’ soccer, volleyball, basketball, softball, track and also SCIL.
Mrs. Terry Walker presented the Stanley Kobylenski Awards. Winners were Alicia Peters, Erika Long, William Reichmann and Terrance Fink.
Mrs. Walker stated that this would be the last time these awards would be given. Since the WSL was dissolving, and since Delaware Valley athletics would now begin blending into the new era of Sullivan West Athletics, Mrs. Walker explained that “Now is the time to close the door on this part of D.V. history.”
Other awards given during the evening were Undergraduate Athlete of the year awards, which were presented to Alicia Peters, Erika Long, and William Reichmann. Graduate Athlete of the Year Awards went to Theresa Bauer, Elisabeth Hubert and Cody Bojo.
Staff Sergeant Brad Burkett of the U.S. Army awarded the National Scholar Athlete Awards to Rory Carrier and Elizabeth “Libby” Norden.
One of the evening’s highlights was the presentation of the Billy Moran Scholarship by Brent Rosenberger to Elisabeth Hubert.



top of page  |  home  |  archives