Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives

Democrat Photo by Rob Potter

TOP ATHLETES: Jen Peloquin and Roy Jay were chosen as the Girl Athlete of the Year and Boy Athlete of the Year at the Narrowsburg sports awards banquet.

Peloquin, Jay Tabbed Top
NCS Athletes

By Rob Potter
NARROWSBURG — June 20, 2000 -- Several outstanding athletes were honored Friday night as the Sullivan West Central School Narrowsburg campus held its annual sports awards banquet on Friday.
Seniors completing their high school athletic exploits and outstanding underclassmen who will return to the NCS fields of competition were recognized as several dozen proud parents, teachers and administrators looked on.
Members of each varsity and junior varsity team at the school were recognized and each coach presented awards such as most valuable player and most improved player to deserving members of the squads.
Aside from the team awards, a few special presentations were made. Narrowsburg Principal Rod McLaughlin presented senior athletes Matt Nordenhold and Jen Peloquin with U.S. Army Reserve Scholar Athlete Medals. And Peloquin and Roy Jay were honored as the Girl and Boy Athlete of the Year, respectively.
As they made their presentations, each coach noted the accomplishments of his or her team over the past season. And though some noted that even though the won-loss record may have hovered near the .500 mark or even well below, they were very proud of the young men and women on their teams. They thanked the athletes for exhibiting many noble qualities, including determination and sportsmanship, in their competitions.
“My players never gave up,” said girls’ soccer coach Linda Pomes, who also noted that her team struggled for victories in Western Sullivan League matches last fall.
“In every part of the game, we played even with every team,” added girls’ basketball coach and athletic director Scott Haberli. “The other teams just put the ball in the basket more than we did.”
Sullivan West Superintendent Michael Johndrow praised all of the Narrowsburg student-athletes and their coaches. He noted the long hours and dedication of the school’s coaches and urged them to “keep up the good work.”
“Everyone here should be proud of this great group of athletes,” Johndrow said of the honorees. “They have done very well for their Narrowsburg teams. And in the future years, they will help make the Sullivan West teams a force to be reckoned with.”
The following is a list of the other awards presented by Narrowsburg coaches at the banquet.
Boys’ Soccer (presented by coach Howard Whitmore): Coach’s Award – Evan Kraack; MVP – David Sander and James Sykes.
Girls’ Soccer (presented by coach Linda Pomes): Coach’s Award – Jen Peloquin; MVP – Jessica Foster.
Girls’ Basketball (presented by coach Scott Haberli): Coach’s Award – Jessica Foster; MVP – Beth Meyer.
Boys’ Basketball (presented by coach Cliff Kelly): Most Improved Player – Shawn Esselman; MVP – Bruce Nober.
Cheerleading: Coach Suzanne Nordenhold presented a plaque to the squad’s three seniors – Amanda Gill, Katrina Janowski and Chrissy McGee.
Golf (presented by coach Tom Nuttycombe): Coach’s Award – Kevin Taylor; Most Improved Player – Jon Heinle; MVP – Logan Cole.
Baseball (presented by coach Scott Haberli): Coach’s Award – Evan Kraack; Most Improved Player – Mike Popolillo; MVP – Roy Jay.
Softball (presented by coach Lionel Billard): Coach’s Award – Stacy Hert; Most Improved Player – Kim Jay; MVP – Jen Peloquin.



top of page  |  home  |  archives